Brief Genealogies of Some Rensselaer County Familes

The following families names can be found in the book, Hudson-Mohawk Genealogical and Family Memiors. I have chosen the names of families known to have lived in Stephentown. The genealogies listed could help in assembling a more comprehensive genealogy. These genealogies aren't complete, and some may not mention Stephentown, but hopefully they will fill some gaps in your research. The list is alphabetical.


This information is from Vol. II, pp. 523-527 of Hudson-Mohawk Genealogical and Family Memoirs, edited by Cuyler Reynolds (New York: Lewis Historical Publishing Company, 1911)


Cuyler Reynolds
by
Stefan Bielinski

Journalist, author, and antiquarian librarian, Cuyler Reynolds also was an important historian of the city of Albany.
He was born in Albany on August 14, 1866. He was the son of Dexter Reynolds and his wife, Catherine Cuyler Maley Reynolds. He was the older brother of Architect Marcus T. Reynolds.
Educated at the Albany Academy and at a boarding school in Catskill, he emerged as a journalist and writer.
He was the first curator of the Albany Institute of History and Art. He became Director in 1899 and served for ten years. He also held the title of "Albany City Historian!"
His chief work on Albany history is Albany Chronicles. He also published a number of genealogical resources.


Carpenter



There were three distinct families bearing the name of Carpenter who made early settlement in America. They were each from England, where the family is of "great antiquity," and to distinguish them have been termed "The Providence Family" (the earliest of three to settle in the New World), "The Rehoboth Family" and "The Philadelphia Family." The first two named were related and there is good evidence that the third was also. Perhaps the first mention of the name Carpenter in America is that of Alice Carpenter, who came from Leyden, Holland, landed in Plymouth in June, 1623, and became the wife of Governor William Bradford on August 14 following, being as the governor made record "the fourth marriage in the colony." She was the daughter of Alexander Carpenter, who with his wife and four other daughters were members of the church at Leyden, where the governor knew her.

(I) The first person bearing the name Carpenter to make permanent settlement in America was William Carpenter, son of Richard Carpenter, of Amesbury, Wiltshire, England. He married Elizabeth, born at Cheselbourne, Dorsetshire, England, November 23, 1611. They were married a short time before their sailing for America. The first mention found of William Carpenter in America is in the "Initial Deed" hastily drawn up by Roger Williams at the time of settlement at New Providence, Rhode Island, in which he designates by initial the "loving friends and neighbors" who are to have equal rights with himself. In it are the initials W. C. These friends and neighbors, twelve in number, had nothing further to show for their holdings until December 23, 1661, when a formal "Confirmatory Deed" was given them by Roger Williams and wife. There were some omissions of names in the second deed, and in 1666 another deed was given in which Mr. Williams states the "Initial Deed was given the 8th day of the 8th month, 1638." In the latter deed William Carpenter is named in full. The "First Baptist Church in America" was constituted at Providence between August 3, 1638, and March 16, 1639. In the list of "Founders" is the name of William Carpenter. His "Home Toll" was separated from that of Robert Coles by a highway. Town street is now Main street, and the highway is now "Meeting Street," Providence, so called because of the Friends Meeting House which now occupies William Carpenter's lot. Soon after the signing of the "Initial Deed" the proprietors made division of their purchase. William Carpenter and others were allotted a large tract at "Pautuxet," where they at once made settlement. It was a beautiful tract of meadow land, four miles south from Providence, bordering on Narragansett bay, and south on the Pawtuxet river. In later years it was known as Cranston and is now covered with blocks of buildings. It was here that William Carpenter spent the remaining years of his life; for nearly fifty years it was his home. There is hardly a page of the town records but has mention of him; he was on numerous commissions to lay out roads, settle boundary lines, locate and build bridges, and he was a warm personal friend of Roger Williams, whose perfect confidence he enjoyed. He was elected to the general court many times, and was assistant to the general assembly and deputy. When King Philip's war was threatening the very life of the colony the general assembly on April 4, 1676, voted "that in these troubulous times and straits in the colony this Assembly desiring to have the advice and concurrence of the most judicious inhabitants, do desire at their next sitting the company and counsel of William Carpenter." During the war, "on January 27, 1676, the Indians despoiled Wm. Carpenter of two hundred sheep, fifty head of cattle and fifteen horses." Austin says: "William Carpenter's house was attacked by three hundred Indians and was set on fire by them, but the flames were extinguished by the defenders. Two of his household were killed." One of these was his son William. His last public service was on April 25, 1683, when as "Last survivor of the Thirteen Proprietors" he gave deeds to the heirs of his fellow proprietors for lands that had been held in joint ownership. He made his will February 10, 1680. The death of his son William caused a codicil which was added March 15, 1684, and he died September 7, 1685. His wife Elizabeth Arnold survived him. She was a sister of Benedict Arnold, governor of the colony from 1663 until his death in 1678. Her father, William Walter Stephen, and sister Joana resided near Pawtuxet, and for nearly half a century the Carpenters and Arnolds were the largest land owners and chief taxpayers of Pawtuxet. A monument was erected in memory of the Carpenter family in 1860 by one of William's descendants in Cranston, three and a half miles from the City Hall, Providence, Rhode Island.

Children of William and Elizabeth Carpenter, all except the first born in Pawtuxet:

Joseph, see forward.
Lydia, born about 1638.
Ephraim, about 1640.
Timothy, about 1643.
William, about 1645.
Priscilla, about 1648.
Silas, 1650.
Benjamin, about 1653. Silas is the only one of the family whose birth is definitely known. A deposition taken in 1674 and the date on his gravestone fixes it in the year given.
The children are all named in the will, William excepting, who was killed by the Indians prior to the death of his father.

(II) Joseph, eldest son of William and Elizabeth (Arnold) Carpenter, was born at Amesbury, Wiltshire, England, about 1635. The first mention made of him is at Providence, Rhode Island, where on May 3, 1656, he is witness to a deed from his uncle, Stephen Arnold, to his father, which indicates that he was then of legal age. The town records of Warwick, Rhode Island, show that he had a "Corne Mill" at the wading place near the Falls on the Pawtuxet river. Here he remained until 1677, although as early as 1663 he was at Long Island making negotiations for the purchase of land from the Indians at Oyster Bay. The Hempstead colony on Long Island resisted the attempts to settle at Oyster Bay, but finally allowed them to remain in peace. Joseph Carpenter is recorded as having purchased three thousand acres of land at Musketa Cove. Associated with him was Nathaniel Coles, Abia Carpenter, Thomas Townsend and Robert Coles. They styled themselves "The Five Proprietors of Musketa Plantations," which name and style was continued until after the revolution. Each proprietor had a "Home Lott" of five acres set off on which to erect a dwelling. These home lots were situated on a street or highway that they called "The Place." The site of these homes on this street, which still bears the name, are very readily identified. On the "Lott of Joseph Carpenter" the first house was built, after the erection of a saw mill. It was occupied by him all his lifetime, was the birthplace of nearly all his children, and continued in the family for several generations. The plantation prospered, although its growth was retarded by King Philip's war. Following the erection of the saw mill, he built a grist and fulling mill, agreeing with the other proprietors to grind their grain in return for the use of the water power. In a few years the Oyster Bay settlement had their own town government, constable, overseers, justice of the peace and recorder. They held their own town meetings and elected their own officers until the organization of Queens county in 1683. They had many industries and the records show Joseph Carpenter to have been the prime mover in their establishment and that his energy and ability had made a thriving community from an humble beginning. He died during the "sickly season" of 1683. The place of his burial is not known.

He married (first), April 21, 1659, Hannah, daughter of William Carpenter, of Rehoboth, Massachusetts. She was born at Weymouth, Massachusetts, February 3, 1640, died about 1673. He married (second) Ann (or Anna), baptized in the Dutch Church at New York in 1647, daughter of Francis and Elizabeth (Luther) Weeks. Francis Weeks was with Roger Williams in the canoe when he first landed at Providence. He and his wife were early settlers of Hempstead, Long Island, where they were heavily fined for "entertaining Quakers," and soon after removed to Oyster Bay. Children by first wife:

Joseph, "the eldest son," inherited the estate and title of his father.
A daughter, married William Thornecraft.
Tansen, married John Williams. 4. William, see forward.
Nathaniel, said to have been the first white child born at Musketa Cove, Oyster Bay, Long Island; married Tamar, eldest daughter of Robert and Mercy (Wright) Coles.
Hannah, married Jacob Hicks.
Children of second wife:

Ann, married Joseph Weeks.
Benjamin, married Mercy, daughter of Robert and Mercy (Wright) Coles, sister of the wife of his half-brother, Nathaniel.
John (posthumous child), married Martha Feake.
These children were all prominent in the plantation and some of them joined in the exodus from Oyster Bay to "the Main," as Westchester county was then called, and were among the first settlers at Rye, North Castle, Bedford, Harrison and Mamaroneck. Other families leaving about 1700 were the Coles, Weeks, Lallings, Wrights, Townsends, Cocks and many others.

(III) William (2), son of Joseph and Hannah (Carpenter) Carpenter, was born at Pawtucket, Rhode Island, about 1666. The first mention of him is found in the will of his grandfather, 1683, and in 1692 he appears at Pawtucket and sold the property so given by will. He acted as one of the proprietors after the death of his brother Joseph until 1706, when his nephew Joseph attained legal age. He was a large land owner and prominent in the affairs of the plantation. He was a blacksmith by trade, having his homestead and shop in that part of town known as "Duck Pond," now a residential section known as Nassau Station. He sold his property in 1720 and removed to Westchester county, New York, though he still had landed interests at Musketa Cove as late as 1734. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Ephraim Carpenter, supposed to have been his cousin; she died about 1743. Children:

William, married Elizabeth Prior.
Joseph, married Ann Farman.
Silas, no record of marriage.
Benjamin, married (first) Dinah Albertson; (second) Lydia Thorne.
Timothy, see forward.
Elizabeth, married Samuel Weeks.
Ruth, married William Thornecraft.
Mai, married Captain Thomas Kepp.
Benedict, married (first) Hannah Haviland; (second) Abigail Horton; (third) Abigail Ferris. The members of the "Friends Meeting" at Purchase, New York, says he for "4th wife married the widow, Elizabeth Wanser, who survived him."
(IV) Timothy, son of William (2) and Elizabeth (Carpenter) Carpenter, was born at Musketa Cove, Long Island, New York, April 1, 1698. He removed to Westchester county, New York. In 1720 he bought a large tract of land from the Indians at North Castle, part of which still remains in the family. His house was burned in 1721 and again in 1722. He then built the house in which he lived until his death. The house was afterward occupied by his son Timothy, his grandson William, and his great-grandson Job R. It was torn down in 1845. In his will, made July 11, 1763, he divides a large landed property among his living children and wife Phebe. His will was proved May 24, 1769.

Timothy Carpenter married, about 1719, Phebe, born March 16, 1706, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Albertson) Coles. Children:

Samuel (said to have been the first white child born at North Castle), born January 17, 1720; married Rachel, daughter of Job Wright, and had two children.
Ephraim, born June 27, 1723; is believed to have removed to Orange county, New York.
George, married Lucretia, daughter of Thomas Goulding; he was a farmer at "Nine Partners," Dutchess county, New York; had five children.
Phebe, born June 25, 1729; married William Forman, a farmer of Yorktown, Westchester county; they had a daughter Elizabeth, married Josiah Green.
William, see forward.
Archealus, born April 23, 1734; married Rebecca Goulding, sister of the wife of his brother George. He was a tanner and currier, and had a farm at North Castle, where he lived at the time of the revolution. He sided with the "Loyalists," and because of his activity in their behalf his farm was confiscated and he and his family compelled to leave the country. They left New York in 1783, on board the ship "Cyrus," and settled in New Brunswick, enduring for many years untold hardships in that unsettled country. It is said of him that he built the first house and shop at "Parrtown," now St. John. He died July 15, 1810, leaving nine children.
Silas, born July 15, 1737; was a farmer of Greenwich, Connecticut; he married Phebe, daughter of Joseph and Hannah Fowler, and had eight children.
Benjamin, twin of Silas; married Mary Searles; he was a farmer and resided for a time at Pittstown, Rensselaer county; had seven children.
Timothy, born August 1, 1740; married Hannah Ferris and had three children.
Elizabeth, died young.
(V) William (3) (named for his Grandfather Carpenter), son of Timothy and Phebe (Coles) Carpenter, was born at North Castle, Westchester county, New York, April 5, 1731, died June 6, 1814. He was a farmer at "Nine Partners." He married (first) Sarah Seaman, of Long Island. He married (second) Lydia, widow of Abraham Carpenter, and daughter of Peter Totten, of North Castle. Children of first wife:

Seaman, see forward.
Zeno, married (first) Lydia Clark (second) Sarah Hoag; he was a minister of the Society of Friends and a deeply religious man.
Stephen, born April 29, 1764.
Elizabeth, married 覧覧 Southwick.
Bethany, born December 5, 1767.
Phebe, married 覧覧 Hoag.
Mary, married 覧覧 Cornell.
Caroline.
James, died young.
Sarah, married 覧覧 Carman.
One authority states that Lydia, the second wife, had thirteen children, but does not state whether they were children of the first or second husband.

(VI) Seaman, eldest son of William (3) and Sarah (Seaman) Carpenter, was born February 10, 1760, died August 30, 1842. He removed to Saratoga county, New York. He married Sarah Simmons, born August 30, 1771, died September 19, 1806. Children:

John, born December 21, 1793.
Sarah, January 20, 1797.
Ruth, married Asa Barker, of Barkersville, New York; had a son, William C. Barker, of Poughkeepsie, New York.
Hiram, see forward.
(VII) Hiram, son of Seaman and Sarah (Simmons) Carpenter, was born December 14, 1801, and died November 3, 1875, at Melrose, Rensselaer county, New York. He was a farmer, and also a tanner, owning and operating a large tannery at Barkerville, Saratoga county, New York. He was a man of sterling character and excellent ability, and occupied a leading place in the community. He served as justice of the peace and school commissioner. He was an active member of the Christian church, and was of hospitable and generous disposition. In politics he was an old-line Whig. He married Sally Ann, daughter of David and Mary (Harcourt) Barker. Her parents were from old and influential families, her father being of the Barkers from whom was named the village of Barkerville, and who contributed largely to its development and prosperity. Children of Hiram and Sally Ann (Barker) Carpenter:

Mary Barker, born March 27, 1831; unmarried; resides at Melrose, New York.
Edward Madison, see forward.
(VIII) Edward Madison, son of Hiram and Sally Ann (Barker) Carpenter, was born in Barkerville, Saratoga county, New York, April 11, 1835, died June 18, 1907. He came to Albany in 1854, and secured employment in the office of Bennett & Griffin, and from that time until his death was continuously and prominently connected with the grain and flour trade. He was head of E. M. Carpenter & Company, and was also associated with Edward P. Durant, in the business of Durant &,Company. For over a half century he was a leading merchant of Albany, and in point of years was the oldest operator in the city in the grain trade. In commercial circles his standing was of the highest, while his private character was without blemish. He was a faithful member of the State Street Presbyterian Church, in which he was for forty years an active member, and in which he was made deacon in 1872, and elder in 1889. He was ever alive to his responsibilities as a citizen, and always exerted his influence in behalf of good government. Through his long and active life in Albany he was a well-known figure, and had a large circle of friends and acquaintances. One of his prominent traits was his friendliness and kindliness to all with whom he came in contact. He married, June 26, 1860, Harriet, daughter of Walter and Caroline Merchant (see Merchant III). Harriet Merchant Carpenter, only child of Edward Madison and Harriet (Merchant) Carpenter, born November 13, 1869, married Augustus Springer Brandow, June 28, 1893; children:

Edward Carpenter Brandow, born June 22, 1896;
Walter Merchant Brandow, born October 19, 1902.

Carpenter

John and Hester Carpenter were residents of Rensselaer county, New York. John was a well-to-do farmer and a member of the Methodist church. They died and were buried at Pittstown, New York. Children: Felix, Daniel, Delia and Augustus.

(II) Daniel, son of John and Hester Carpenter, was born in Rensselaer county, New York, and became a prosperous farmer of the town of Pittstown, where he died in 1879. He married (first) Hannah Finny, one child, Jennie. He married (second) Amelia A. Wetzell and had sons: George W. and Daniel.

(III) George Wetzell, son of Daniel and Amelia A. (Wetzell) Carpenter, was born in Pittstown, Rensselaer county, New York, April 12, 1859, died November 15, 1889. He was educated in the public schools and at Lansingburg Academy. He engaged in farming and was getting well established in business when he met his death from a kick received from one of his own horses. He was a rising young farmer and during his brief life of thirty years had become well known for uprightness and steady business habits. He was a member of the Lutheran church and a Republican. He married, January 8, 1880, Emma M. Snyder, born November 25, 1859, daughter of Christopher (2) and Caroline (Penoyar) Snyder, whose children were:

Charles Henry, died a young man;
Elbert;
George C., married Mary Collins, child, Edith, married Leland Johnson;
Emma M., married George W. Carpenter.
Christopher (2) was a son of Christopher (1) and Hester (Stover) Snyder. Christopher (2) Snyder was educated in the district schools and became a wealthy farmer, owning three hundred acres of land with flax and saw mills. For fifty years he was treasurer of the Methodist Episcopal church and for twenty-five years was chorister. He was a leader in both church and town. Politically he was a Republican. He married (first) Emeline M. Snyder, one child, Christopher, died in infancy. He married (second) Caroline Penoyar and had four children, previously noted. Children of George W. and Emma M. Carpenter:

Jennie, born May 11, 1882, married, August 21, 1907, Harry W. Stover, professor of languages;
child, Albert Stover, born August 18, 1909.
Caroline A., born May 24, 1886; married, October 4, 1905, Frank C. Lamb; children:
Carl W., born June 23, 1906, and
Melissa M., born March 22, 1910.
Mrs. Emma M. (Snyder) Carpenter survives her husband and resides in the village of Valley Falls, New York.


Carr


This name is illustrious in the military annals of the state of New York, made so by the life and distinguished services of Brevet Major General Joseph B. Carr, a rank and title conferred "for gallant and meritorious services during the war." He was of the second generation of his family in the United States; his parents being natives of Ireland. They came to this country in 1824.

(II) Joseph Bradford, son of William and Ann Carr, was born in the city of Albany, New York, August 16, 1828, died at Troy, February 24, 1895. He grew up in Albany and Troy, in which latter city he was in the tobacco business from 1842 until 1861. He early displayed his love of a military life. On arriving at the age of twenty-one he joined the Troy Guards. He served in the ranks one year, when he was commissioned second lieutenant. He rose rapidly through successive ranks until he was colonel of the Twenty-fourth Regiment New York State Militia, assuming command July 10, 1859, continuing until the firing upon Fort Sumter, when he at once offered his services to his country. April 15, 1861, the Second Regiment New York Volunteers was organized in Troy; on May 10, he was elected colonel; four days later the regiment was mustered into the United States service for a term of two years. On May 24 the regiment camped near Hampton, being the first regiment to encamp on the "sacred soil of Virginia." Their first battle was "Big Bethel," where they were forced to retreat; they were at Newport News until May 10, 1862, when Colonel Carr removed his command to Portsmouth, where he was assigned to the command of a provisional brigade, consisting of the Second and Tenth New York regiments and Howard's light battery. June 10, he was ordered with the Second regiment to report to General McClellan at Fair Oaks. He proceeded to the extreme front, where he was assigned to General Frank Patterson's brigade, Hooker's division, Third Army Corps of the Army of the Potomac. Owing to absence of its regular commander, Colonel Carr was temporarily assigned to the Third Brigade, familiarly known as the Jersey Brigade, which he led throughout the battle of the Orchards, June 25, and through the historical "Seven Days" fighting. On General Patterson's return Colonel Carr resumed command of his regiment at Harrison's Landing. On July 2, by order of General Hooker, he superseded General Patterson's; remaining at the head of the brigade until promoted by President Lincoln upon the personal recommendation of General Hooker "for gallant and meritorious services in the field" to be a Brigadier-General of Volunteers, commission dating from September 7, 1862. His courage and coolness under fire was illustrated at the battle of Bristoe Station; with a murderous storm of shot and shell that burst upon his men, General Carr moved about, cheering them on and encouraging them by his own daring. His horse was shot under him; he coolly mounted an orderly's horse and successfully charged the enemy. He gained on that day the title of "Hero of Bristoe," which ever afterward clung to him. He took part in the battle of Bull Run, August 30 and 31, and at Chantilly, September 3, when the gallant Kearney fell. In these battles he fully sustained his reputation for courageous, daring conduct. September 17, he was transferred to the First Brigade, composed of troops from Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and New Hampshire. December 13 and 14, participated in the bloody fight at Fredericksburg, where he lost heavily in officers and men. January 12, 1863, he commanded an expedition to Rappahannock Bridge. March 30, he was officially notified by the Secretary of War that the Senate having failed to act upon his nomination, he had ceased to be an officer of the army. General Hooker, then in command of the Army of the Potomac, proceeded at once to Washington, and on the following day telegraphed General Carr that President Lincoln had reappointed him, to date from March 3, 1863. At Chancellorsville, May 3, after the death of General Berry, he succeeded to the command of Hooker's old division, the white-patched heroes. He sustained the reputation he had made on other hard-fought fields, and was made the subject of special, laudatory mention in the official report by Major General Sickles, the Corps commander. July 1, 1863, Major General Humphreys assumed command of the division and General Carr returned to his brigade. June 15 he moved with the Army of the Potomac to Gettysburg, where on July 2 and 3 he participated in that memorable battle. During that fight he was mounted upon a valuable horse, presented him by friends in Troy, until the noble animal fell, pierced by five bullets, in the fall injuring the general's leg. Exhausted and lame as he was, General Carr refused to retire, but mounted another horse, and continued directing the movements of his brigade. He lost heavily in this battle nearly two-thirds of his force while not one of his staff, orderlies or headquarters horses escaped injury. After the battle the division general and officers of the brigade assembled at headquarters and complimented him upon his gallantry. Major-General U. A. Humphreys, in his official report of the battle, spoke of him and said: "I wish particularly to commend to notice the cool courage, determination and skillful handling of their troops of the two brigade commanders, Brigadier-General Joseph B. Carr and Colonel William R. Brewster, and to ask attention to the officers mentioned by them, as distinguished by their conduct." After Gettysburg he was at the battle of Wapping, and in temporary camp at Warrenton, Virginia. October 5 he was assigned to the head of the Third Division, Third Corps, advanced to Warrenton junction, and participated in the battles at Brandy Station and Kelly's Ford. In November he was one of the principal actors in the battles of Locust Grove, Robinson's Tavern, and Mine Run. In April, 1864, on the reorganization of the army, he was assigned to the command of the Fourth Division, Second Corps (Hancock's), retaining command until ordered by General Grant to report to General Butler, commanding the Army of the James, who placed him in command of the exterior line of defense on the Peninsula, headquarters at Yorktown. Early in July, 1864, he was ordered by General Butler to evacuate Yorktown and report to him at the front for assignment. Obeying his order, he was sent to Major-General E. O. C. Ord, who placed him in command of the First and Third Division of the Eighteenth Corps. August 4, he was given command of the First Division of the same corps and occupied the right of the line in front of Petersburg. He retained this command until October 1, when he was placed in command of the defense of the James river, headquarters at Wilson's Landing. Here he remained seven months, during which he built two important forts and strengthened the defenses. May 20, 1865, he was transferred to City Point, where he remained until the close of the war. June 1, 1865, he was brevetted major-general, "for gallant and meritorious services during the war," to rank as such from March 13, 1865. On being relieved of command, he returned to Troy, where he was mustered out of the service. January 25, 1867, he was appointed by the Governor of New York, major-general of the Third Division New York State Militia, where he rendered valuable service during railroad riots of 1877, at Albany, dispersing the mob and restoring peace and order without the sacrifice of life or property. He remained in this command until his death at Troy in 1895. He was given an imposing military funeral on February 27 from St. Peter's Roman Catholic Church, Troy. The body lay in state and was viewed by thousands, officers of the army, governors, statesmen, representatives of every department of the service, and a vast concourse of his fellow citizens attended. He had won distinction by real work and gallant performance amid the danger of bloody contests, and all "delighted to do him honor." After retiring from official duty as Secretary of State, General Carr entered the manufacturing field as the senior partner of J. B. Carr & Company, operating the extensive chain manufacturing works established in 1866, located between Troy and Lansingburg. He continued at the head of the concern until his death. He became a factor in the development of other business enterprises of Troy. He was a director of the Mutual National Bank; second vice-president and director of the Troy City Railway Company. He was reared in the Catholic church and never departed from that faith. He was a Republican and received the unanimous nomination of his party in convention at Saratoga, September 3, 1879, for Secretary of State. He was elected by a large majority; re-elected in 1881, and again in 1883. In 1885 he was the Republican candidate for Lieutenant-Governor of the state, but was defeated at the polls. He was highly esteemed at home and abroad, many organizations bestowing honorary membership upon him. He was a companion of the Loyal Legion, and a Comrade of Post Williard Grand Army of the Republic; member of the Second Regiment Association, Third Army Corps Association; the Old Guard of New York; the Ninth Regiment Troy Citizens' Corps, Burgess Corps of Albany; vice-president Renssalaer County Soldiers and Sailors Monument Association; trustee of New York State Gettysburg Monument Association; the Troy and Ionic Clubs of Troy.

He married Mary Gould, born in Canada in 1837, who survives him. Children:

Mary, resided with her mother;
William Gould (see forward).
(III) William Gould, only son of Major-General Joseph B. and Mary (Gould) Carr, was born in Troy, where he was educated. He was interested in the J. B. Carr & Company Chain Works at Troy, and is now in business in New York. He married Hattie Anne French, born in Bradford, New York, daughter of Iras Cressey and Hester Maria (Gowey) French. Children:

Joseph B., born 1893;
Marjorie, 1895; both born in Lansingburgh.

Carr


The history of the English-speaking family of the Carrs and Kerrs is as old as the Norman Conquest of England. One of the followers of William the Conqueror, taken from a roll in "Battle Abbey," bears the name of "Karre." The early posterity of this Norman soldier settled in the north of England, and succeeding generations spread on both sides of the borderland of England and Scotland and afterward into northern Ireland. The name has passed through many changes and variations and is found in the old documents spelled Carre, Carr, Car, Karre, Karr, Kar, Kerre, Kerr, Ker. There is almost as much variation in the colors and mottoes of the coats-of-arms of the various branches of the family. The ancient and original arms three mullets or etoibles on a chevron; crest: a hart's head, has been generally adhered to, but a wide play given to coloring and motto. The earliest definite Carr records pertaining to the ancestry of the American family go back to four brothers Benjamin, William, George and James Carr, who were born in London. The eldest son Benjamin is the American progenitor. William Carr married Susan Rothchild and came to America in 1621 on the ship "Fortune," Captain Roger Williams, and was a founder of the town of Bristol, Rhode Island. George Carr married Lucinda Davenport, and came to America in 1620, on the "Mayflower," as ship carpenter. He was granted an island in the Merrimac river that was in possession of the family a great many years. James Carr ran away from home, went to sea, afterward became a sea captain. He was drowned while on a voyage from the West Indies to Boston. It is not known that he had a family.

(I) Benjamin Carr was born in London, England, August 18, 1592. He married Martha Hardington in London, September 2, 1613. They both died in London. Children:

Robert, see forward.
Caleb, born December 9, 1616.
Richard, January 5, 1621.
Andrew, December 5, 1622.
(II) Robert, eldest son of Benjamin and Martha (Hardington) Carr, was born in London, England, October 14, 1614, came to America with his brother Caleb (afterward governor of the colony) on the ship "Elizabeth Ann," Captain Roger Cooper, sailing from London, May 9, 1635. These two brothers were both minors and were sent to America after the death of their parents, to live with their uncle, William Carr, who had previously settled in Bristol, Rhode Island. A few years later the two brothers settled in Newport. Robert Carr was admitted an inhabitant in Portsmouth, February 21, 1639, and a freeman in Newport, March 16, 1641. He was one of the original purchasers of Conanicut Island, in Narragansett Bay, containing six thousand acres. He owned considerable property in Newport. He died in 1681, and his will was probated October 4, 1681. The name of his wife is not known nor when she died. Children:

Caleb, see forward.
Elizabeth, married (first) James Brown, (second) Samuel Gardiner.
Mary, married John Hicks.
Robert (2), married Elizabeth Lawton.
Esek, married Susanna 覧覧.
Margaret, married Richard Hartshorne, an eminent Quaker; settled in Middletown, New Jersey.
(III) Caleb, eldest child of Robert Carr, the American ancestor, was born in Newport, Rhode Island, and lived in Jamestown, Rhode Island, on land willed him by his father. He died in 1690. His will, made in Jamestown was dated "Jan 27 1st of William K. of Gt.B." His wife was executrix of the estate. He married Phillis Greene, born October 7, 1658, daughter of Deputy Governor John Greene, of Warwick, Rhode Island. Children:

Robert (2), died young.
Caleb (2), see forward.
William, married Abigail Baker.
Robert, married Hannah Hale.
Job, married Mehitable Sherman.
Mary.
Phillis, married Edward Boss.
Mrs. Phillis (Greene) Carr survived her husband and married (second) Charles Dickinson.

(IV) Caleb (2), second child of Caleb (1) and Phillis (Greene) Carr, was born in Jamestown, Rhode Island, March 26, 1679. He settled in West Greenwich, Rhode Island, in 1731, and bought two hundred and eighty-two and one-half acres of land bounded on one side by what was afterwards known as "Carr's Pond." He deeded one hundred acres of land to each of his sons Joseph and William, later deeded land to son Charles and by will gave his property to his five sons. He married (first) April 30, 1701, Joanna Slocum, born in Jamestown, January 2, 1680, died December 30, 1708. He married (second) Mary 覧覧, in 1712. Children by first wife:

Caleb (3), see forward.
Joseph, married Percilla 覧覧.
Patience, married Joseph Slocum.
Mary.
William, married Elizabeth Cary.
Children by second wife:

Benajah, married Louisa 覧覧.
Captain Charles, married Hannah Hopkins, of East Greenwich, Rhode Island. He was a deacon of the Baptist church for thirty years, a member of the assembly, also a sheriff of Kent county at the time thirteen pirates were hung at the yard arms of the ships lying in the bay at East Greenwich.
(V) Caleb (3), son of Caleb (2) and Joanna (Slocum) Carr, was born in Jamestown, Rhode Island, November 6, 1702, died in East Greenwich, Rhode Island, 1769. He lived on the farm devised him by his father and added to his possessions. He married Sarah 覧覧, born November 8, 1711, died November, 1798. Children:

Patience, born August 7, 1729.
Mary, married Thomas Rogers.
Rebecca, married Job Harrington.
Susanna, married Nicholas Whitford.
Robert, married Rebecca Brayton.
Merebah, married Job Greene.
Comfort, married Benjamin Greene.
Caleb (4), married Abigail Very and settled in Stephentown, New York.
Eleazer, see forward.
Joshua, married Sarah Stafford.
Richmond, married Mary Richmond.
Edward; had five wives, but his children, eleven in number, were all by his first wife, Eleanor Spencer. He was one of the founders of the Baptist church at Stephentown, New York. He died at the age of ninety-two years; for a number of years before his death he was both blind and deaf.
Thurston, married Audrey Spencer. With this generation the family appear in New York records.
(VI) Eleazer, ninth child of Caleb (3) and Sarah Carr, was born in West Greenwich, Rhode Island, April 22, 1746. He settled in Rensselaer county, New York, where he died July 19, 1816. He married Eleanor Stafford, who died October 26, 1813. Children, all born in Rensselaer county, New York:

Stafford, married Catherine Stafford and moved to Saratoga county, New York; issue, ten children.
Stutely, settled in Salisbury, New York; he was a minister and held a captain's commission in the New York state militia, signed by Governor Clinton, dated March 5, 1802. He married Sybil Dyer, who bore him sixteen children. He died in Spring, Crawford county, Pennsylvania.
Catherine.
Eleazer (2), see forward.
Eleanor, married Silas Thompson.
Olive, married Wanton Sweet.
(VII) Eleazer (2), fourth child of Eleazer (1) and Eleanor (Stafford) Carr, was born in Rensselaer county, New York, in 1777, died August 26, 1833. He settled in Salisbury, Herkimer county, New York, where he died. He married Hannah Hakes, born 1779, died November 30, 1857. Children:

Ormenda, married, in Salisbury, Harry Burrell and had issue.
Vienna, married, in Salisbury, Thomas A. Rice and had issue.
Malvin, born 1806, died 1829.
Eleazer (3), see forward.
(VIII) Eleazer (3), youngest child of Eleazer (2) and Hannah (Hakes) Carr, was born in Salisbury, New York, December 9, 1811, died September 18, 1869. He was a farmer of Herkimer county. He married, in Salisbury, January 5, 1832, Hannah Raynor. Children, all born in Salisbury, Herkimer county, New York:

Lyman Hakes, May 9, 1834, died June 18, 1868; married, December 8, 1859, Susan L. Starkey and had issue: Mary Ellen, Eleazer Starkey, and Lyman Hakes (2), settled in St. Paul, Minnesota.
Eliza, May 2, 1836; married Hinton S. Loyd; children: Effie DeKlyn and Frederick Osborn Loyd.
Malvin L., February 9, 1838, married Mary J. Rice and had Ida May, died in childhood; Herman Rice, and Charles J. Carr.
Ormenda, February 3, 1840; married Richard E. Whitney; children: Grant Carr and Lillie Whitney.
Lewis Eleazer, see forward.
(IX) Lewis Eleazer, youngest child of Eleazer (3) and Hannah (Raynor) Carr, was born in Salisbury, Herkimer county, New York, March 10, 1842. He was educated in the town public schools, at Falley Seminary, Fulton, New York, and Fairfield Academy, Herkimer county, from which he was graduated in 1861. He spent two years in farming, but deciding upon the profession of law, he entered Albany Law School, graduating in 1864. He spent one year in the law office of Sherman S. Rogers in Buffalo, New York, where he made the acquaintance and had for a room-mate Grover Cleveland, later twice elected president of the United States. He began the practice of his profession in Port Jervis, New York, in July 1865, remaining there in successful practice until 1893. He became prominent in both the law and politics. For five years, 1869-74, he was in partnership with O. P. Howell, later surrogate of Orange county. In 1871 Mr. Carr was elected district attorney of Orange county, held office for the ensuing three years. During his twenty-eight years of residence in Port Jervis, he served sixteen years of them as a member of the board of education. In 1893 he removed to Albany, New York, having been appointed chief attorney for the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company, especially retained for the legal business of the railroad department of that company. While in Port Jervis from 1872 he was attorney for New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad, having charge of their business in the three adjoining counties of Orange, Sullivan and Delaware. He was successful in his legal practice and stood high among his brethren of the profession. While he confined himself almost exclusively to legal business, he had other outside interests. He was interested in Port Jervis National Bank, which he served as a director for eight years. Since locating in Albany he has confined himself to his railroad practice. He is a member of the State and County Bar associations; the Lawyers' Club, of New York City; the Triton of Canada; the Fort Orange club of Albany. He was prominent in the Masonic fraternity in Port Jervis, where he was high priest of Neversink Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and for seven years eminent commander of Delaware Commandery, Knights Templar. He married, in 1865, Ruth, daughter of Matthias Duke, an officer in the British army, stationed at Kingston, Canada. Her maternal grandfather, John Gallagher, was an officer in the English army, was with Lord Wellington at Waterloo, where the star of the great Napoleon forever set; was with the British forces in the United States during the war of 1812, and was the officer in command at Eastport, Maine, surrendering it to the American forces. Children:

Raymond W., born June 13, 1869.
Lewis Eleazer, June 27, 1871.
William Duke, October 26, 1874.

Coon


Through her mother, Charlotte (Vosburgh) Coon, Mrs. Charlotte (Coon) Mead descends from Abel Camp, of Barre, Vermont, born January 21, 1729, died April 20, 1820, aged ninety-one years. Abel Camp enlisted in the colonial army in the war of the revolution as a private, and was credited to the town of Cornwall, Connecticut. He joined the army August 27, 1781, in Captain James Stoddard's company of General David Waterbury's brigade. This brigade was raised for the purpose of defending a portion of the Connecticut coast. Later he joined Washington at Phillipsburg, and was also for some time under Heath's orders on the Westchester line. Three of his sons, Abel, Joel and Gould Camp, served as soldiers in the Connecticut militia throughout the same campaign.

(II) William, son of Abel Camp, was born April 9, 1764, died July 6, 1860. He married, November 9, 1785, Abigail Raymond, born December 1, 1767.

(III) John Raymond, son of William and Abigail (Raymond) Camp, was born September 29, 1793, died July 19, 1864. He married, February 28, 1816, Lucy Drew Camp, born November 21, 1791, died May 27, 1862.

(IV) Angeline, daughter of John Raymond and Lucy Drew (Camp) Camp, was born November 7, 1816, died March 6, 1842. She married Abram Vosburgh, of Glenville, New York, who died July, 1882.

(V) Charlotte, daughter of Abram and Angeline (Camp) Vosburgh, was born September 3, 1837, died September 23, 1903. She married, January 1, 1857, George H. Coon, of Troy, New York, born October 29, 1835, died June 23, 1899. Children:

Angeline, born October 13, 1857;
Charlotte, see forward;
Raymond Schuyler, born November 27, 1863;
Joseph Mulford, born April 2, 1874.
(VI) Charlotte, daughter of George H. and Charlotte (Vosburgh) Coon, born April 26, 1860, married Zachariah Mead (see Mead IX).


Culver


The family name of Culver is said to signify a pigeon or a dove. The progenitor of this family in America was Edward Culver, who emigrated from Groton, England, in 1635, and, settled first in the valley of the Connecticut river. He may rightfully be considered as one of the founders of Connecticut, and his deeds have the true ring of valor, at a time when the settler had to protect his family and his town from the savage.

(I) Edward Culver was born in the year 1600, in England, and died in 1685. His name is found early in the oldest records of the ancient town of Dedham, Massachusetts, where he married Ann Ellis in 1638, and where their first three children were born, between 1640 and 1645, after which he removed to Roxbury, Massachusetts, where at least two other children are known to have been baptized, and doubtless they were also born there, between 1648 and 1651. He seems to have removed to Pequot, Connecticut, about the time of this latter date, in order to enjoy the use of about six hundred acres of land acquired there in 1653, as a reward for services rendered in the Pequot war, 1636-38. He purchased the house lot of Robert Burrows, becoming baker and brewer. for New London, Connecticut. On November 20, 1652, or 1653, he had a land grant of farming tract at Mystic, Connecticut, and a house lot in the town, the Indians calling his farm Chepadaso, and he located thereon in 1664, and was then a "wheel-right of Mystic." That year he released his homestead to his oldest son John, and removed to a place near the head of the Mystic river, in New London. In February, 1661-62, a small grant of a portion of the water side, next south of the fort land, was made to John Culver. May 7, 1663, John was elected to drum on Sabbath days for the meetings, that instrument being employed instead of church bells in summoning the people to worship. He resided in New Haven some time, where his daughter, Abigail, was born, in 1676, and James, in 1679; but John returned to Mystic, and in 1695 confirmed to Thomas Lamb the land sold by his parents to John Lamb, his father. Edward Culver was a noted soldier in King Philip's war (Hartford). In 1675 the council "ordered John Stedman and Edward Culver, with som of the Indians, to goe forth upon the scout betwixt this and Springfield, to make what discovery they could upon the enemie to the eastward of the river," and he had considerable influence with them. He is spoken of as "Edward the Senior" because from the name it is believed that Edward Culver, living in Norwich, Connecticut, in 1680, was born in New London after his father removed there.

Edward Culver Sr. married, in Dedham, Massachusetts, in 1638, Ann Ellis. Children:

John, born in Dedham, Massachusetts, April 15, 1640.
Joshua, born in Dedham, Massachusetts, January 12, 1643; married, December 23, 1676, Elizabeth Ford, of New Haven, Connecticut.
Samuel, born in Dedham, Massachusetts, January 9, 1644-45; married (by elopement) the wife of John Fish, about 1674.
Gershom, born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, December 3, 1648; see forward; there also seems to be an entry under the name Joseph at about the same time, which is thought to be the result of a mistake on the part of some one in writing of the name of the child last mentioned.
Hannah, born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, April 11, 1651; married, December 14, 1670, John Burrows.
Edward, born in New London, Connecticut.
(II) Gershom, son of Edward and Ann (Ellis) Culver, was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, December 3, 1648, died in 1716. He married Mary Howell, and by her had a son named David.

(III) David, son of Gershom and Mary (Howell) Culver, was born in 1680. He had a son named after him.

(IV) David (2), son of David (1) Culver, was born in 1736, died August 3, 1814. He married Mary Youngs, and by her had a son who was named after him, and the same name as his father before him. He lived in Northampton, L. I., and moved to Hebron, Conn.; he was in the battle of Germantown.

(V) David (3), son of David (2) and Mary (Youngs) Culver, was born in Hebron, Tolland county, Connecticut, September 1, 1758, died in Pottersville, New York, March 4, 1848. He married Abigail E. M. Curtice, and by her had a child named James. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war.

(VI) James, son of David (3) and Abigail E. M. (Curtice) Culver, was born in Hebron, New York, September 11, 1796, died in Sandy Hill, New York, April 15, 1872. He married, in Sandy Hill, June 19, 1823, Kezia Lee, born May 12, 1803, died May 23, 1886, daughter of Colonel Stephen and Mary (Little) Lee. Her father, born November 7, 1773, died August 23, 1856, was the tenth child and sixth son of Thomas and Mary (DeWolf) Lee, and was counted a man of ability, was energetic and influential both as a magistrate and military officer at Lyme and New London, Connecticut. His ancestry is traced through his father, Captain Thomas Lee, born August 26, 1734; married Mehitable Peck, July 14, 1757; son of Colonel Stephen Lee, born Lyme, Connecticut, January 19, 1699, died New London, May 21, 1783; married Abigail Lord, December 24, 1719; son of Lieutenant Thomas Lee, born in England, died December 5, 1704, the first of the name in Lyme, Connecticut, an owner of one-eighth of that town, and was ensign of the train band; son of Thomas Lee, who died in 1641, and who was the progenitor of that family in America. [from Addenda and errata from Vol. IV, p. xlvii: Stephen Lee was a great-grandson of Thomas Lee.] Another interesting fact in this ancestry is also included in the Lee line. Colonel Stephen Lee's wife, Abigail (Lord) Lee, born in Lyme, Connecticut, in 1700, died September 19, 1742, was the daughter of Richard Lord, born in Saybrook, May, 1647, died, Lyme, August 20, 1727, whose grandfather, Thomas Lord, was born in England in 1583, and as progenitor of his family, settled in Newton, Massachusetts, and became an original proprietor and settler of Hartford, Connecticut. Kezia Lee traces ancestry of her grandmother, Mehitable Peck, born January 12, 1738, married Capt. Thomas Lee, July 24, 1757, and three other generations (Benjamin, born March 6, 1711; Samuel, born July 29, 1678; Joseph, born New Haven, Connecticut, January, 1641) to William Peck, who was born in England in 1601, and was a founder of New Haven, signed the fundamental agreement or Constitution, June 4, 1639, and where he died in 1684. Children, born in Sandy Hill, New York:

Cyrus Lee, March 29, 1824, died in Albany, New York, January 23, 1899; married, in Hudson, New York, April 12, 1855, Mary Ann Bullock, by whom one child, Dr. Charles Mortimer.
Charles David, April 5, 1826, died in New York, New York,. March 7, 1886; married, Sandy Hill, December 28, 1858, Louisa A. Bellamy, born June 9, 1833; died Denver, Colorado, August 10, 1903, by whom one child, Charles Bellamy, born in New York City, March 10, 1864; married Caroline Smith.
Emily Kezia, October 12, 1828, died February 10, 1829.
John Oscar, May 2, 1830; married, in Burlington, Wisconsin, May 2, 1860, Minnie Bliss, by whom five children:
William Lee Bliss, born March 17, 1861; married, in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, August 6, 1885, Margaret Amelia Day;
Paul Bliss, January 18, 1865;
Julia Louise Bliss, June 3, 1868;
Richard Keith Bliss, January 21, 1873;
George Bliss, January 21, 1873.
James Lee, November 30, 1832, died in Fort Edward, New York, August 8, 1890.
George Bradley, January 16, 1836, died in New York City, December 6, 1908; married, in Comstock Landing, New York, December 23, 1869, Lucy Comstock Baker, daughter of Isaac V. and Laura (Comstock) Baker, born September 21, 1840, died September 17, 1900, by whom one child, Laura Baker, born in North Granville, New York, September 8, 1872, died October 17, 1901; married, Lake George, New York, June 3, 1901, Frederick William Aldous.
Mary Eliza, May 21, 1838; married, Sandy Hill, September 24, 1857, Eber Richards, born May 6, 1836, son of Orson and Julia Ann (Fisk) Richards, by whom four children, all born in Sandy Hill, New York:
Caroline Berry Richards, born July 23, 1858, died October 2, 1890;
Nelson James Richards, December 14, 1861, died May 5, 1862;
Frederick Barnard Richards, August 1, 1865; married, in Granville, New York, June 12, 1895, Constance Emily Zorn, born in Jamaica, West Indies, April 1, 1873, daughter of Rev. Joseph Theophilus and Anna Rosina (Liebfreid) Zorn, to whom were born, at Ticonderoga, New York, three children:
Dorothy Richards, born August 14, 1896;
Constance Richards, August 12, 1899;
William Lee Richards, February 15, 1901;
Orson Culver Richards, born June 7, 1873; married, Sandy Hill, April 25, 1900, Mabel McLaren, born in Sandy Hill, August 22, 1875, daughter of William McLaren and Mary Caroline Barkley.
Stephen Berry, July 19, 1841, died in New York City, January 20, 1902; married, in Port Chester, New York, September 20, 1887, Georgianna Peck, who died March 16, 1901, and by whom two children:
Mary Richards, born in New York City, June 11, 1889;
Edward Peck, born in Mt. Vernon, New York, November 4, 1892.
Thomas Lee, May 31, 1844; married, in Fort Miller, New York, June 3, 1885, Anna De Garmo, born September 15, 1862, died August 30, 1892, by whom two children:
Stewart Lee, born in New York City, August 9, 1887, died July 13, 1889;
James Lee, born in Jersey City Heights, New Jersey, March 25, 1891, died April 8, 1892.
William Lee, September 24, 1846, drowned in the Hudson river at Sandy Hill, August 1, 1860.
(VII) Cyrus Lee, son of James and Kezia (Lee) Culver, was born in Sandy Hill, New York, March 29, 1824, died in Albany, New York, January 23, 1899. He received his education at Sandy Hill (in 1910 called Hudson Falls), Washington county, New York. He was not famous nor did he seek fame. Those who knew him best knew the high standard of conduct he exemplified. Harrison E. Webster, president of Union College, said that Cyrus L. Culver was one of the best Christians of his (Webster's) acquaintance. Clinton Meneely, of Liberty Bell renown, said that if there were ever an unselfish man, Cyrus L. Culver was that man. Eber Richards declared that "Cy was as good a friend as anybody ever had." His school education ended when he was but thirteen years of age. It was to him, however, that Mr. John Spicer, of Troy (himself a collegian and cultured) referred when he said: "I don't go to the expense of keeping an encyclopedia up to date; when I want to know anything, I go over and ask Culver!" He read much of the best literature and remembered an astonishing amount of the best that he read. Dr. Joseph Culver, of Jersey City, the heir of the four hundred acres, near New London, Connecticut, that were granted to Edward Culver for his valorous part in Queen Anne's and the Pequot wars, said that Cyrus Lee Culver's researches in the New York State Library had contributed some of the most valuable of the data requisite for the actual extent of the family genealogy. Cyrus Lee Culver married, in Hudson, New York, April 12, 1855, Mary Ann Bullock; born in Hillsdale, New York, September 18, 1833. Her father was Major Mead Bullock, born March 20, 1805, and her mother was Sally Ann (Rodman) Bullock. Major Bullock's ancestry is to be traced through Comfort Bullock, born in Rehoboth, Massachusetts, March 9, 1762; Comfort Bullock, born April 4, 1741; Isaac; John, born May 19, 1664, to Richard Bullock, born in England in 1622, died Rehoboth, Massachusetts, November 22, 1677, and was a landowner in Middlebury, Long Island, being taxed in 1656. The mother of Mary Ann Bullock, who was Sally Ann Rodman, traces her ancestry through six generations, ending with John Rodman, born in England and banished to the Barbadoes for his Quaker principles, where he died about 1686. One child was born to Cyrus Lee and Mary Ann (Bullock) Culver, Dr. Charles Mortimer Culver, see forward.

(VIII) Dr. Charles Mortimer Culver, son of Cyrus Lee and Mary Ann (Bullock) Culver, was born in West Troy, New York, later known as Watervliet, September 28, 1856. His elementary education was acquired at the public schools in Hillsdale, Sandy Hill and Troy, after which he attended the Troy high school, Claverack College, Hudson River Institute, and the Rensselaerville Academy. He entered Union College, and was graduated with the degree of A. B., in 1878, in 1881 receiving the degree of A.M. from his alma mater. He next studied at the Albany Medical College of Union University, and was graduated in 1881, following which he devoted two years to serious study abroad, at the Friedrich Wilhelm University of Berlin, Prussia, and at the Sorbonne, of Paris. When he returned to this country, in 1883, he confined his practice to the eye, and from 1892 to 1905 was the ophthalmic surgeon to the Albany Orphan Asylum, all the time progressing in skill and acquiring a reputation as among the foremost practitioners in his specialty for this part of the country. He has received a number of appointments, among them trustee of Union University, 1888-92; first vice-president of the American Academy of Medicine, 1900-01; United States pension examining surgeon, 1887-1911; member of the surgical staff of the Albany Orphan Asylum, 1892-1905; member of the council of the American Academy of Medicine, 1901-04; historian of the Philip Livingston Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution, 1896-1900. He is a member of the Albany County Medical Society, New York State Medical Society, American Ophthalmological Society, Albany County Medical Association, New York State Medical Association, American Academy of Medicine, of the Psi Upsilon, Theta Nu Epsilon and Phi Beta Kappa fraternal societies, and a member of the Albany Institute and Historical and Art Society. He has written and translated a number of works, among which may be cited his translation of Landolt's Refraction and Accommodation, 1886; Landolt's Modern Treatment of Cataract, 1893; and "Anomalies of the Motor Apparatus of the Eyes," 1900, in Norris and Oliver's System of Diseases of the Eye.

Dr. Culver has been a "Mugwump" since the presidential election of 1884, and has figured prominently in the work of the Albany Civic League, of which he was one of the principal founders and has been one of its most aggressive spirits in the endeavor to better affairs in Albany. He is a member of the Second Presbyterian Church. He is an agreeable companion, but his manifold duties absorb most of his time. His residence for some years prior to 1910 was at No. 36 Eagle street, Albany.

He married, in Albany, May 10, 1887, Jessie Munsell, born in Albany, January 2, 1859, daughter of Joel and Mary A. (Reid) Munsell. Her father was born in Northfield, Massachusetts, April 14, 1808, died in Albany, January 15, 1880, son of Joel and Cynthia (Paine) Munsell, and was one of a family of several children. He gained fame as a publisher of histories, as a genealogist and the author of Annals of Albany and other historical works. (See Munsell VII.) Mrs. Culver was educated at the Albany Female Academy and is a member of a number of local organizations, among them the Albany Musical Association, the Gansevoort Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Albany Female Academy Alumnae Association, and the Albany Institute and Historic and Art Society, and is a member of the Second Presbyterian Church. She is a person of cultivated tastes and always ready to co-operate with those seeking to uplift humanity. Children:

Cyrus Lee, born in Schodack, New York, May 26, 1888;
Mary, born in Albany, New York, January 29, 1895.

Doty and Eaton


The Eaton and Doty families were of English origin. The American ancestors of each came to America in the "Mayflower," survived the rigors and sickness of the first winter, and founded families in the New World. Francis Eaton was the twenty-third and Edward Doty the fortieth signer of the "Compact." The families spread rapidly and have many noted descendants. Oliver Lafayette Eaton Fisher, of Troy, whose family lines are herein traced, is a lineal descendant of Francis Eaton, and through his maternal line traces to Edward Doty. In the intervening generations there have been intermarriages with nearly every prominent early Massachusetts family.

(I) Edward Doty, born about 1600, died at Plymouth, Massachusetts, August 28, 1665. He was a passenger in the "Mayflower" in 1620, and one of the signers of the "Compact." He married (second) January 6, 1635, Faith, daughter of Thurston Clark. Children:

Edward, born 1637; married Sarah Paunce. His daughter Sarah, in 1687, married Captain James, second son of Nathaniel Warren (1).
John, born 1639, married Elizabeth Cooke.
Thomas, born 1641, married Mary Churchill.
Samuel, born 1643: married Jane Harmon.
Desire, born 1645: married (first) William Sherman; (second) Israel Holmes; (third) Alexander Standish.
Elizabeth, born 1647; married John Rouse.
Isaac, February 8, 1648, see forward.
Joseph, April 30, 1651; married (first) Elizabeth Warren; (second) Deborah Holbrook; (third) Sarah Edwards.
Mary, born 1653; died unmarried.
(II) Isaac, son of Edward and Faith (Clark) Doty, was born at Plymouth, February 8, 1648. according to the colonial records. He removed to Oyster Bay, Long Island, New York, about 1673, his name appearing in various deeds from 1678 to 1720. He was a member and twice vestryman of the Episcopal church at Oyster Bay. He married, about 1673, Elizabeth England, and died about 1728. Children, all substantial men of Oyster Bay:

Isaac, married Elizabeth Jackson.
Joseph, married Sarah 覧覧.
Jacob, married Penelope Alberton.
Solomon, married Rachel Seaman.
James, married Catherine Latting.
Samuel, married Charity Mudge.
(III) Joseph, son of Isaac and Elizabeth (England) Doty, was born at Oyster Bay, Long Island, in 1680, died there 1716. His will is recorded at Jamaica, Queens county, New York. He married Sarah 覧覧, of Oyster Bay. Children:

Sarah, born 1706; married John Jackson.
Joseph (2), born 1708, see forward.
Isaac, born 1711, died young.
Elizabeth, born 1716, married Daniel Dunning, of Queens county, New York.
(IV) Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1) and Sarah Doty, born at Oyster Bay, 1708, died at Lansingburg, New York. He was a private in Captain Charles Laroex's company of New York City militia in 1738. He settled at Crum Elbow, Dutchess county, New York, where he married, and later removed to Lansingburg. He was a blacksmith in good circumstances; he married, in 1744, Lucretia De Long; in 1769 he removed with his family to Lansingburg, New York. Lucretia De Long, born at Charlotte, Dutchess county, New York, in 1722, was daughter of Elsha Van Schaic, who was the daughter and sole heir of an Amsterdam (Holland) banker. She eloped with Francis De Long, an officer of the French army. Children of Joseph and Lucretia Doty:

Ormond, born in Charlotte, New York, November 24, 1746; married Phoebe Vail.
Peter, see forward.
Rebecca, married (first) John Irish; (second) Stutely Stafford.
Elizabeth, twin of Rebecca, married Daniel Barheit.
Rhoda, married Jacob Stover.
Mary, married Leonard Schermerhorn.
Jacob, married Zilla Berrie, removed to Vermont.
Lydia, married Daniel Shaw.
Nancy, married Mark Jimmey.
Marian, married Ephraim Putnam.
(V) Peter, son of Joseph (2) and Lucretia (De Long) Doty, was born at Charlotte, Dutchess county, New York, in 1750, died 1811. He was a prosperous farmer of the town of Schaghticoke, Rensselaer county, New York. His will, dated July 2, 1811, is on record at Troy, New York. He married Catherine Overocker. Children:

Joseph, married Elizabeth Cogswell; removed to Michigan.
Michael, married Rachel Rouse.
Ormond, married Eleanor Mandeville.
Martin, married Abigail 覧覧.
John Adam, see forward.
William, married Eleanor Rouse.
Peter. married Catherine Esmond.
David, married Eve Travers.
Anna, married Jacob Hearman.
Barbary, died young.
(VI) John Adam, son of Peter and Catherine (Overocker) Doty, born at Schaghticoke, New York, January 6, 1781, died April 23, 1859. He settled at Easton Corners, Washington county, New York, where he engaged in farming. He married Anna B. Overocker, who died in 1848. Children:

Paulina, died young.
Parley, died young.
Rachel, see forward.
Catherine, unmarried.
Parley, married Moses Lilly.
Maria, married Sidney Rheubottom.
Jacob N., married Clarissa Devoe.
John B., married Maria E. Van Buren.
Harriet Jane, married James Swart Abeel.
(VII) Rachel, daughter of John Adam and Anna B. (Overocker) Doty, was born in Schaghticoke, New York, September 14, 1806, died January 8, 1868. She married, February 21, 1829, James C. Snyder, of Sand Lake, Rensselaer county, New York. They lived at Schaghticoke, where James C. Snyder died March 19, 1856. Children:

John, died young.
Angelina, born May 18, 1832; married Alonzo Doty, and moved to Nebraska.
Harriet P., born October 3, 1834, died April 29, 1883; married James W. Fisher.
Maria R., born November 8, 1836, died January 2, 1908; married E. M. Magarry.
Almira Frances, born May 30, 1839, see forward.
Washington L., born December 10, 1845, died March 14, 1864; he was a private in the civil war and died in regimental hospital from pneumonia contracted by fording the Rappidan river.
(VIII) Almira Frances, daughter of James C. and Rachel (Doty) Snyder, born in Schaghticoke, May 30, 1839, died at Albany, New York, December 5, 1869; married, December 25, 1861, Daniel Oliver Eaton. Children:

Jessie Frances,
Oliver Lafayette.
(The Eaton Line)
Francis Eaton, with his wife Sarah and infant son Samuel, came to America in the "Mayflower" in 1620. He married a second wife who bore him a daughter Rachel. He married (third) Christian Penn, and had a son Benjamin, born 1627; she came over in the ship "Ann," 1623. Francis Eaton's first wife "dyed in the Generall sickness and he married againe & his 2 wife dyed & he married the 3" (Bradford's list of Mayflower Passengers). He was a carpenter by trade and removed from Plymouth to Duxbury, where he died in the latter part of 1633. His third wife, Christian Penn, survived him and married, in 1634, Francis Billington and had eight children, among them a daughter Martha, who became the wife of Samuel Eaton, son of Francis Eaton by his first wife, Sarah.

(II) Samuel, son of Francis and Sarah Eaton, was born in 1620, and died at Middleboro, 1684. He was born in Holland or England, came over in the "Mayflower" "a sucking child," was apprenticed for "Seaven Yeares" to "John Cooke the younger," was among the purchasers of Dartmouth, 1652, was first of Duxbury and afterwards "a house holder" in Middleboro, whence he was driven back to Plymouth by the Indians at the time of "King Philip's War" in 1675. He married (first) before 1647, Elizabeth 覧覧, who bore him a child who died young. He married (second) January 10, 1660, Martha, daughter of Francis Billington, and granddaughter of John Billington. Children:

Sarah, born about 1661.
Samuel (2), see forward.
Marcy, married Samuel Fuller, son of Rev. Samuel Fuller.
(III) Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1) and Martha (Billington) Eaton, was born about 1663, died at Middleboro, March 8, 1723. He married, about 1694, Elizabeth Fuller, of the same ancestry as the late Chief Justice Melvin B. Fuller. Children:

Mercy, born December 16, 1695.
Keziah, born May 16, 1700.
Elizabeth, born July 26, 1701.
Barnabas, see forward.
(IV) Barnabas, son of Samuel (2) and Elizabeth (Fuller) Eaton, was born April 12, 1703. He married (first) Mehitable Alden, who died at Middleboro, Massachusetts, April 11, 1739, aged thirty-two years. She was a lineal descendant of John and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden of the first Pilgrim settlement. Children:

Hannah, born October 29, 1730.
Samuel, see forward.
Mary, born 1735.
Sarah, born 1737.
Seth, born 1739.
Barnabas Eaton married (second) Elizabeth Clemmons, who bore him eight children.

(V) Samuel (3), son of Barnabas and Mehitable (Alden) Eaton, was born March 16, 1732, died January 18, 1820. He married, November 8, 1753, Patience Tinkham, who died January 9, 1812. Children:

Samuel, born October 27, 1754.
Barnabas, March 17, 1757.
Israel, June 9, 1760.
Mehitable, December 27, 1763.
Daniel, October 14, 1767.
Darius, see forward.
Eunice, twin of Darius, born March 9, 1770.
Enos, born September 15, 1773.
(VI) Darius, son of Samuel (3) and Patience (Tinkham) Eaton, was born March 9, 1770, died March 23, 1828. He resided in Ware, Massachusetts. He married, in 1789, Phebe Richmond, who died November 9, 1854. Children:

Lucy, born February 2, 1790.
Darius (2), December 21, 1794.
Rufus, December 25, 1796.
Joseph, May 4, 1799.
Benjamin, October 10, 1801.
Nancy, December 7, 1804.
Daniel Oliver, November 22, 1814.
(VII) Daniel Oliver, youngest child of Darius and Phebe (Richmond) Eaton, was born in Ware, Massachusetts, November 22, 1814, died at Bloomfield, New Jersey, buried at Albany Rural Cemetery, October 7, 1895. He engaged in the grocery business at Albany, New York, but for many years he lived retired from all business. He was a Republican, but took no active part in politics. He married (first) Mary Louisa Bounds, who bore him Charlotte, Edward, Henry and Charles Warren. He married (second) Almira Frances Snyder, December 25, 1861. She died at Albany, New York, December 5, 1869. (See Doty VIII.) Children:

Jessie Frances, born November 10, 1862; married Ormon J. Doty, of Melrose, New York, September 4, 1883; children:
Oliver Fisher, born April 12, 1887;
Ormond Leonard, born May 10, 1891.
Oliver Lafayette, see forward.
(VIII) Oliver Lafayette, only son of Daniel Oliver and Almira Frances (Snyder) Eaton, was born in Albany, New York, April 8, 1864. He was five years old when his mother died and was taken into the family of his aunt, Harriet Paulina (Snyder) Fisher, by whom he was legally adopted. He added to his own name that of his adopted parent "Fisher," by which surname he has since been known. Early in his life he became associated with William Barker, collar and shirt manufacturer of Troy, New York, and has ever since been connected with the Barker interests and is now a director of the William Barker Company corporation. He is a member of the Troy chamber of commerce, and has varied business interests. He is a Republican in politics but not actively interested. He is an attendant of the Episcopal Church of the Ascension, Troy. He is a member of the Society of Mayflower Descendants, gaining admission through both paternal and maternal lines, and through a like patriotic ancestry gained admission to the Sons of the Revolution. Oliver Lafayette (Eaton) Fisher married, October 23, 1894, Carrie Marian Heinzenberg, born in Troy, August 25, 1872. Her father, John Heinzenberg, was born at Wetzlar, Prussia, Germany, died at Troy, New York, November 12, 1902. He married Frances A. McElroy, born in Brunswick, New York, died at Troy, November 16, 1898. Oliver L. and Carrie M. Fisher have two children:

Theodore Eaton, born April 2, 1896;
Oliver Lafayette, Jr., born November 11, 1897.
They are of the tenth generation from Edward Doty, and the ninth generation from Francis Eaton.


Douglas


The earliest known ancestor in America was William Douglas, born in 1610, lived at Ipswich, Massachusetts, as early as 1641, died at New London, Connecticut, July 26, 1682; married Ann Mable (or Mattle), daughter of Thomas Mable, of Ringstead in Northamptonshire.

(II) William (2), son of William (1) Douglas, was born at Boston, May 2 (or April 1), 1645, died March 9, 1725, at New London; married, December 18, 1667, Abiah, daughter of William Hough.

(III) William (3), son of William (2) Douglas, was born at New London, February 19, 1672, died at Plainfield, Connecticut, August 10, 1719; married and was the father of nine children.

(IV) Asa, sixth child of William (3) Douglas, was born at Plainfield, Connecticut, December 11, 1715, died at Stephentown, New York (formerly Jericho Hollow, Massachusetts), November 12, 1792, where he had lived twenty-six years; married, about 1737, Rebecca Wheeler, born 1718, died 1809.

(V) Wheeler, son of Asa Douglas, was born at Stephentown, New York, April 10, 1750, died at Smithville,Connecticut, January, 1829; married, 1771, Martha, daughter of Rev. John Rathbun, and she died November 28, 1837. Ten children. Wheeler Douglas lived at Stephentown from 1750 to 1779, and from 1780 to 1798 was a merchant at Albany, New York. His property being consumed by fire, he bought a large tract of land from the Indians, near Brantford, Canada, where he lived the remainder of his life.

(VI) Alanson, fourth child of Wheeler Douglas, was born at Stephentown, New York, February 11, 1779, died at Troy, New York, April 9, 1856; married, June 12, 1803, Ann, daughter of Solomon Sutherland, of Stanford, Dutchess county, New York.

(VII) Mary Ann, daughter of Alanson Douglas, was born at Lansingburg, New York, February 7, 1807, died at New Haven, Connecticut, July 15, 1882; married, May 20, 1833, Hon. Samuel Miller, of Rochester


Eddy


The name Eddy is Anglo-Saxon. Ferguson in his "English Surnames," says it comes from Ead which signifies "prosperity." Eada, Eadig, Eddi, Eday, Eadie, Eady, Eddy, are all varied spellings of the same name. The progenitor of the American Eddys is Rev. William Eddy, A. M., vicar of the Church of St. Dunstan's of Cranbrook, county of Kent, England. He was a native of Bristol, educated at Trinity College, Cambridge, England, and vicar of Cranbrook from 1589 to 1616. He married, November 20, 1587, Mary, daughter of John Foster. She died July, 1611. He married (second) in 1614, a widow, Mrs. Elizabeth Taylor. He was buried in Cranbrook churchyard. There is preserved in the vicarage of St. Dunstan's all the loose parish registers from 1588 to 1616, gathered by him, arranged and preserved in a parchment book. He beautifully engrossed about eighty of its pages and illuminated three title pages for births, deaths and marriages. Children, all except the last, Priscilla, by his first wife: Mary, Phineas, John, Ellen, Abigail, Anna, Samuel, Elizabeth, Zechariah, Nathaniel and Priscilla. Of these children John and Samuel first came to America and are the founders of the family. John settled in Watertown, Massachusetts; was thrice married, and had ten children. His will was proved December 16, 1684.

(II) Samuel, son of Rev. William and Mary (Foster) Eddy, was born in Cranbrook, England, May, 1608, died 1685. He with his elder brother John left London, England, August 10, 1630, in the ship, "Handmaid," Captain John Grant; arrived at Plymouth, Massachusetts, October 29 following. On January 1, 1632, he was admitted a freeman and took the oath. He had lands allotted him, and in 1661, with several of his neighbors, bought a large tract of land of the Indians and founded the town of Middleboro, where he settled, as did many of his descendants later, forming in the northeastern portion of the town a little village called "Eddyville." He became a large landowner. He married Elizabeth 覧覧, who died in 1689. She was an independent, energetic woman of great physical vigor and endurance. On October 7, 1651, she was brought before the court and fined for "wring out" clothes on the Lord's day. The fine 10s. was afterward remitted. May 1, 1660, she was again summoned before the court to answer for "traveling on Sunday" to Boston; she affirmed that she was necessitated to go on account "of the illness of Mistress Saffin." The court excused, but admonished her. Children: John, Zachariah, Caleb, Obadiah and Hannah.

(III) Zachariah, son of Samuel, the "Pilgrim founder," and Elizabeth Eddy, was born in Plymouth, Massachusetts, 1639, died September 4, 1718. He was bound by his parents to William John Brown, a shipwright of Rehoboth, until he was twenty-one years old. After completing his years of service, he became a farmer on lands granted him and others purchased. He married (first) Alice Padduck, May 7, 1663. She was born March 7, 1640, died September 24, 1692. Married (second) Widow Abigail Smith, whose daughter, Bethiah Smith, married Caleb Eddy, son of Zachariah Eddy. Children: Zachariah, John, Elizabeth, Samuel, Ebenezer, Caleb, Joshua, Obadiah and Alice.

(IV) Joshua, son of Zachariah and Alice (Padduck) Eddy, was born February 21, 1680. He removed to Gloucester, Rhode Island, where he died November 13, 1768. He married, May 3, 1708, Hannah Stevens, died October 22, 1757. Children: Benjamin, Jonathan, Daniel, Hannah, Nathaniel, Zachariah, Thomas, James, Peter and William.

(V) Zachariah (2), fifth son of Joshua and Hannah (Stevens) Eddy, was born July 23, 1720. He married and had children: Newbury, Daniel Abner, Asaph, Mercy, Rhoda and Anna. With Zachariah and his children the family appear in the state of Vermont.

(VI) Newbury, eldest son of Zachariah (2) Eddy, was born January 15, 1747. He resided in Thetford, Vermont, and from there moved to Weathersfield, Vermont, where his children were born:

Allen, of Mt. Holly, Vermont;
Zachariah, of Fulton, New York;
Joab, of Cavendish, Vermont;
Isaac.
(VII) Isaac, youngest son of Newbury Eddy, was born in Weathersfield, Vermont, February 17, 1777, died July 25, 1847, in Waterford, New York. In March, 1826, he removed to Troy, New York, later to Waterford. In early life he was an engineer. He married (first) Lucy Tarbell, died March 8, 1828. Married (second) Susanah Foster, born 1800, died 1855. Children by first wife:

Oliver Tarbell, died in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, about 1873; in 1850 he invented a typewriting machine.
Sarah, married Samuel Skinner.
Titus, married Ann Eliza Euson; settled in Troy, New York.
Benjamin Franklin, removed to Wisconsin.
Leonora Jane, married George W. Macardle.
Thomas Jefferson, see forward.
George Washington, was a manufacturer of Waterford, and an inventor of car wheels and railway appliances; also the Eddy valve on which he received a medal, 1893, Columbian Exposition, Chicago, Illinois; married (first) Mary Polk Wetherbee; (second) Delia Emma Ferris; children:
Rev. Clarence Eddy, graduate of Yale and Princeton Theological Seminary; married Elizabeth Scott;
Adelaide, married John L. Hill;
Lyman Kinsley Eddy, civil engineer of Waterford; married Agnes Burton, had one son James Van Schoonhoven Eddy;
Lily Jean;
Florence May;
George Herbert.
Walton Mead, married (first) Mary C. Rynders; (second) Mary Jane Pendleton; child by first wife: James Isaac; by second wife: George Walton, Henry Pendleton, May Elizabeth, Nellie Grant.
Isaac Foster, died, aged twenty-four years, unmarried.
Evanda Newbury, died in infancy.
Lucy, married Garrett Fulton.
Susan Desdemona, died at age of fifteen.
Castella Esperanza, married W. F. Sherwin; moved to Elmira, New York; children: Florence and Harry.
(VIII) Thomas Jefferson, son of Isaac and Lucy (Tarbell) Eddy, was born at Weathersfield, Vermont, May 17, 1809. He removed to Waterford, New York, where he died March, 1893. He was a manufacturer of printers' ink in colors; the formula was of his own invention; he became very successful. He married, October 15, 1833, Lucy McGuier, born May, 1816, died May, 1888, daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Whitney) McGuier. Children:

Isaac Newton, born April 17, 1835, died January 18, 1854;
Harriet Frances, October 16, 1837, died December 10, 1879;
Charles Carroll, August 14, 1840, died young;
Elizabeth Agnes, September 16, 1841;
Thomas Bliss, August 7, 1844, died April 21, 1875;
Mary Emily, see forward.
(IX) Mary Emily, daughter of Thomas Jefferson and Lucy (McGuier) Eddy, was born August 17, 1847. She married Dr. Allen Gifford Peckham in Waterford, New York (see Peckham VIII). Children:

Harvey Newman, deceased, and
Harold P. Peckham.

Gardner


This is one of the surnames derived from an occupation and is found in many forms of spelling, Gardiner and Gardner being the most frequent. The name is characteristic of the middle counties of England and occurs in both forms in southern and central Scotland, especially in Perthshire. The family is exceedingly numerous in the United States. They have been prominent in the history of New York from an early period. George Gardner was an assistant justice of the court, 1771. Powell Gardner held the same office from 1802 until 1815; Stow Gardner was attorney general, 1853. They have had representatives in the state legislature and on the field and staff. Joshua Gardner was "one of the first settlers of the town" of Stephentown, then Albany county. The family was founded in America by Thomas Gardner, who came to Salem, Massachusetts, 1624, from Dorsetshire, England. He is known as the founder of the Salem branch. George Gardner was among the first settlers of Rhode Island as early as 1638. He came from England and is believed to be the founder of the. New York family. He married (first) Herodias, widow of John Hicks, and died in Kingstown, Rhode Island, 1679; (second) Lydia. Ballou. Each wife bore him seven children. The connection is not plain between the Rhode Island ancestor and the Troy family on account of breaks in the family records.

(I) Henry Gardner was born in Palmyra, Wayne county, New York, where his parents with other Gardners had settled. He was a tanner, and was a man of some means, which he lost later in life. He was married and had six children: Charles Henry, Wright, Avery S., William, Norton and Anna.

(II) Charles Henry, son of Henry Gardner, was born in Palmyra, New York, 1838, died in Troy, 1899. He was educated in Troy. He worked in Syracuse for a time, but in 1855 returned to Troy, where for a number of years he was with the Lilly Safe Manufacturing Company as a lock maker. Later he went to Rochester, where he opened a store for the sale of millinery and fancy goods, remaining six years. He then came to Troy and for twenty-seven years was with the Gurley Company, optical and mathematical instruments, where he remained until forced to retire on account of ill health. He had prospered in all these years, and acquired a considerable holding of real estate which grew in value and became valuable assets of his estate. He was a member of the Presbyterian church, and voted with the Republican party. He was a man of quiet, home taste, and universally respected for his upright life. He married Sarah Maria, born 1833, died in Troy, January 25, 1909, daughter of William C. Sage, born in Oneida, New York, died in Troy, and his wife, Lucretia Jones. Mrs. Gardner was a granddaughter of Elisha Sage. Two children were born to Charles H. and Sarah M. (Sage) Gardner.

William H., see forward;
Russell S., born in Troy, 1874; engaged in drug business in Troy.
(III) William Henry, eldest son of Charles Henry and Sarah Maria (Sage) Gardner, was born in Troy, 1861. He was educated in Troy, and after leaving school entered the employ of a collar manufacturer, where he remained for several years. It is of note that the first to introduce the Wheeler and Wilson sewing machine in Troy and prove its practicability in stitching collars and cuffs was Jefferson Gardner, of Troy. Several of the family have been or now are manufacturers in Troy of collars, cuffs and shirts. Mr. Gardner has devoted himself to the care of his real estate including "Gardner's Hall," a public building, part of the estate. and is also interested in Long Island real estate at Flushing, with his brother Russell Sage. Mr. Gardner is a Republican and a Presbyterian. He married Minnie, daughter of Daniel W. Gould, a business man of Troy. They have no children.


Greene


This ancient and honorable New England family was founded in America by John Greene, who was the progenitor of the family known as "The Greenes of Warwick," Rhode Island. The ancient family name "De Greene" was derived from their large possessions in Northamptonshire, England, where they were seated as early as the reign of Edward II. of England (1320).

(I) John Greene, of Warwick, Rhode Island, was born in England, 1597, fourth son of Richard and Mary Greene, of Bowridge Hill, England. He married in St. Thomas Church, Salisbury, England, November 4, 1619, Joana Tattersall, who died at Conanicut or Newport, Rhode Island. He came to America in the ship "James of London," sailing from Southampton in April, 1635, arriving m Boston, June 3, 1635. He proceeded to Rhode Island, residing in Providence until 1643, when he with twelve others made arrangements for the purchasing of Narragansett from the Indians. He was a sturdy champion of the right of speech and conscience, became embroiled in the fierce religious controversies of the day, and in the land dispute between Connecticut and Rhode Island, which raged for half a century. At Warwick he filled the offices of magistrate and clerk of the court. He had a second wife, Alice Daniels, and a third, Phelippa 覧覧. His will was proved January 7, 1659.

(II) James, son of John "the founder" and Joana (Tattersall) Greene, was born in Salisbury, England, 1626, died 1698. He married (second) Elizabeth Anthony, August 3, 1665, daughter of John Anthony, by whom he had six sons, and two daughters; one of these sons, Jabez, was the grandfather of General Nathaniel Greene, of the revolutionary army.

(III) John (2), son of James and Elizabeth (Anthony) Greene, was born in Warwick, Rhode Island, (Polowomuth) September 30, 1685. He was made a freeman in 1708, and died December 8, 1757. He married Mary, born 1689, daughter of Increase Allen, of Dartmouth, Massachusetts.

(IV) Joseph, son of John (2) and Mary (Allen) Greene, was born in Warwick, Rhode Island, February 19, 1727. He was a Quaker and a trusted friend of General Stephen Van Rensselaer, with whom he always visited when in Albany. He was a cousin to General Nathaniel Greene. He died in Berlin, New York, 1822, aged ninety-five years. With Joseph Greene the settlement of the family in New York state began. He married Phoebe, born April 26, 1734, daughter of John Langford, of East Greenwich, Rhode Island.

(V) Langford, son of Joseph and Phoebe (Langford) Greene, was born in 1766. He occupied a farm in the northern part of the town of Stephentown, Rensselaer county, New York, at a very early date. He married Abigail Thomas. His sons, Joseph, Samuel, Benjamin and George, were all farmers of the same neighborhood.

(VI) Benjamin, son of Langford and Abigail (Thomas) Greene, was born in November, 1798, died April, 1842. He married, in 1821, Rhoda Niles, born August 17, 1802, died October 3, 1849, daughter of Eliphalet and Rebecca Niles. Children:

Louise Antoinette, married Lavinus Stillman;
Benjamin Franklin, see forward;
Calvin Pardee, married Jeanette Dodge;
Rebecca, died young;
Abigail, married Hiram Rosencrans.
Rhoda (Niles) Greene survived her husband and married (second) Barsaleel Streeter.

(VII) Benjamin Franklin, son of Benjamin and Rhoda (Niles) Greene, was born in Berlin, New York, December, 1825, died in Adrian, Michigan, July 30, 1863. He resided in Troy, New York, several years, then removed to Adrian, Michigan, where he engaged in the flour and feed business under the firm name of Warner and Greene. For a time he was associated with Senator Chaffee of Michigan in supplying the mining camps of California and the west. He was a Congregationalist, and acted with the Republican party. He married Mary Jane, born January 29, 1828, daughter of Jonathan and Catharine (Brewster) Hubbs. The Brewster and Hubbs families are of English ancestry and settled in America in 1701.

(VIII) Harvey S., son of Benjamin Franklin and Mary Jane (Hubbs) Greene, was born in Adrian, Michigan, October 5, 1858. He was well educated in the high schools of Adrian. Came later to Albany and was with a boot and shoe house for some time, when he engaged with G. H. McDowell & Company of the Arcade Mills of Cohoes, New York, and when his father-in-law, John Clute, died in 1906, at the latter's request took the business management, having with Mrs. Greene, his wife, become the chief proprietors of the Campbell & Clute Manufacturing concern. Mr. Greene is president of the Manufacturers National Bank. Served two years as a member of board of police commissioners, and is a director of the Cohoes City Hospital. He is a Republican. He married, November 18, 1884, Adaline Margaret, daughter of John and Adaline (Winne) Clute (see Clute III). Children:

Alice Adaline, born September 27, 1885; married October 17, 1908, Percy Moses, of Brookline, Massachusetts; child, Percy Lawrence, born December 7, 1910.
Harold Clute, born October 22, 1889; was a student at Amherst College, and member of Delta Kappa Epsilon society; now engaged with the Asbestos Metal Company at Canton, Massachusetts.
Mildred Niles, born January 22, 1893, a student at Dana Hall, Wellesley, Massachusetts.
Mrs. Greene is a member of the auxiliary board of the Cohoes Hospital.


Greene


The settlement of the "Greenes of Warwick" in America followed the "Landing of the pilgrims" at Plymouth by about fifteen years. The family have an ancient English lineage that dates far back into the history of that country. The name originally "De Greene" was derived from the large landed possessions of the family in Northamptonshire, England, where they were seated as early as 1320. There are several distinct families bearing the name Green and Greene in the United States. The progenitor of the family in Cohoes, under consideration, was John Greene, who founded the family known as the "Greenes of Warwick," the first permanent settlement being made at Warwick, Rhode Island, which became the family seat in America. The family figured conspicuously in the early history of Rhode Island, as did the other branches, furnishing men high in colony affairs, including a governor; men brave in war as was General Nathaniel Greene, and men who stood firm in support of their religious convictions as did sturdy old John Greene, of Warwick.

The English lineage of the American ancestor traces from 1320 down to the birth of John Greene in 1597 at Bowridge Hill, England. He was the fourth son of Richard and Mary Greene, of Bowridge Hill. He married in St. Thomas Church, Salisbury, England, November 4, 1619, Joan Tattersall, who died at Conanicut, or Newport, Rhode Island. John Greene came with wife and son James to America in the ship, "James of London," sailing from Southampton, in April, 1635, landing in Boston, Massachusetts, June 3, 1635. He did not remain here but proceeded south to Rhode Island, where he made settlement and resided until 1643. In that year, in company with twelve others, he arranged for the purchase of a large tract of land from the Indians and settled upon the purchase, at Warwick. He was a man of wealth and prominence, filling the offices of magistrate and clerk of court. He was a sturdy champion of the right of speech and liberty of conscience. In defense of his principles, he became embroiled in the fierce religious controversies of his day and both received and dealt hard blows. He was also a party to the controversy over land titles and ownership that raged between Rhode Island and Connecticut for a period of fifty years. He married a second wife, Alice Daniels, and a third, Phillipa 覧覧. He disposed of his property by a last will and testament, probated January 7, 1659.

(II) James, son of John "the founder" and Joan (Tattersall) Greene, was born in Salisbury, England, 1626, baptized June 21, 1626, died in Rhode Island, 1698. He was but nine years of age when his father came to America, and his boyhood was spent in Providence, Rhode Island, where he was educated. He inherited land, and was a prosperous man of affairs. He was twice married, his second wife being Elizabeth Anthony, to whom he was married August 3, 1665, daughter of John Anthony. They had six sons and two daughters, one of the sons, Jabez Greene, being the grandfather of General Nathaniel Greene, of the revolutionary army, and the trusted friend of Washington.

(III) John (2), son of James and Elizabeth (Anthony) Greene, was born in Warwick, Rhode Island (Polowomuth), September 30, 1685, died December 8, 1757. He was made a freeman of Warwick in 1708. He married Mary, daughter of Increase Allen, of Dartmouth, Massachusetts, and had issue.

(IV) Joseph, son of John (2) and Mary (Allen) Greene, was born in Warwick, Rhode Island, February 19, 1727, died in Berlin, New York, 1822, at the extreme age of ninety-five years. With Joseph the settlement of the family began in the state of New York. He was a member of the Society of Friends (Quaker), and became a close personal friend of General Stephen Van Rensselaer, by whom he was always entertained when in Albany. He married Phoebe, born April 26, 1734, daughter of John Langford, of East Greenwich, Rhode Island. Joseph was a first cousin of General Nathaniel Greene.

(V) Langford, son of Joseph and Phoebe (Langford) Greene, was born in 1766. He owned and cultivated a farm in the northern part of Stephentown, Rensselaer county, New York, at an early date in the settlement of that section. He married Abigail Thomas. His sons, Joseph, Samuel and Benjamin, all married and settled on farms in the same neighborhood.

(VI) Benjamin, son of Langford and Abigail (Thomas) Greene, was born in November, 1798, died April, 1842. He was a farmer of Stephentown, New York. He married, in 1821, Rhoda Niles, born August 17, 1802, died October 3, 1849, daughter of Eliphalet and Rebecca Niles. Children:

Louise Antoinette, married Lavinius Stillman.
Benjamin Franklin, see forward.
Calvin Pardee, married Jeanette Dodge.
Rebecca, died young.
Abigail, married Hiram Roscrans.
Rhoda (Niles) Greene survived her husband and married (second) Baisaleel Streeter.

(VII) Benjamin Franklin (called "Frank"), son of Benjamin and Rhoda (Niles) Greene, was born December, 1825, in Berlin, New York, died in Adrian, Michigan, July 30, 1863. He resided in Troy, New York, several years, then removed to Adrian, Michigan, where he engaged in the flour and feed business. For a time he was associated with Senator Jerome B. Chaffee, of Michigan. He traded in Adrian under the firm name of Warner & Greene during the gold fever of "Pike's Peak or Bust" fame, Mr. Greene, Mr. Chaffee and others went to that famous field, but Mr. Greene was taken sick, returned to Michigan and died. He was a Congregationalist, and acted with the Republican party. He married Mary Jane Hubbs, born January 29, 1828, daughter of Jonathan and Catherine (Brewster) Hubbs, and granddaughter of Joseph and Jemima Hubbs, of Saratoga county, New York. The Brewster and Hubbs families are of English ancestors that settled in America in 1701.

(VIII) John Franklin, son of Benjamin Franklin and Mary Jane (Hubbs) Greene, was born in Adrian, Michigan, March 16, 1853. He was educated in the public schools and entered Union College, class of 1879. He did not finish his college course, but after three years' attendance, withdrew and entered newspaper life, purchasing a half interest in the Democrat published at Amsterdam, New York. He remained with the Democrat two years, then disposed of his interest, and going to Baldwinsville, New York, purchased the Gazette, then named the Onondaga County Gazette. He published the Gazette successfully for ten years, then retired from active newspaper life. After five years spent in manufacturing at Fulton, New York, he settled in Waterford, 1895, when he became interested, in the Ford Manufacturing Company, of which he is now secretary. The company manufacture men's knit underwear. Politically Mr. Greene is a Republican, and in religious belief an Episcopalian. He is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, Alpha Delta Phi, Union College, and is a member of the Alpha Delta Phi Club of New York City and of the Waterford Club. He married, May 25, 1882, Mima, born at Red Creek, New York, daughter of Stephen S. Quivey, born in Westbury, New York, June 23, 1825, died in Baldwinsville, New York, April 18, 1895, who was in early life a merchant, then for twenty years secretary of the Morris Axe and Edged Tool Company, and at the time of his death a leading banker of Baldwinsville. He married Melissa J. Moore, born April 19, 1826, died July 31, 1892. Stephen S. was a son of Israel Quivey, of Saratoga county, New York. Children of John Franklin and Mima (Quivey) Greene:

Ruth, graduated A.B., class of 1905, Wellesley College.
Hugh Sayles, born July 13, 1888, died May 12, 1890.

Harrington


The Harrington family of Rhode Island (sometimes written in the early days, Hearnenten and Herrington) is one of the old families of the state and through intermarriage with Reynolds, Grinnell and Irish are connected with all the old and important names of the colonial period. The progenitor of the family in Troy is David Harrington, of Rhode Island, who married Waty (or Waite) Reynolds.

(II) Nicholas, son of David and Waty (Reynolds) Harrington, was born in Exeter, Rhode Island, December 11, 1771, died at Berlin, New York, January 7, 1842. He removed in 1804 to Hancock, Massachusetts, and thence to Berlin, New York, where he died. He was a farmer, and a member of the Baptist church. He married Nancy Grinnell, born in Jamestown, Rhode Island, February 23, 1772, died April 26, 1863, daughter of Jonathan and Martha (Irish) Grinnell, of Rhode Island.

(III) Horace, son of Nicholas and Nancy (Grinnell) Harrington, was born at Hancock, Massachusetts, July 4, 1804, died at Brunswick, near Troy, New York, August 15, 1881. He came to Troy when he was a young man of seventeen years, and later engaged in the produce, flour and grain trade, owning two flour mills. In his later years he removed to a farm in Brunswick, which he cultivated until his death. He was always interested in agriculture, and when in business in Troy owned and operated a farm at Berlin, New York, also a cheese factory. He was prominent in public affairs, and in the Democratic party. He was elected county treasurer of Rensselaer county, and served one term in that office; also served as school commissioner, and in other less important offices. He was a member of the Unitarian church, and a prominent business man of Troy for over half a century. He married (first), April 14, 1830, Eliza A., born 1813, died April 3, 1850, daughter of David and 覧覧 (Maulin) McMurray, of Lansingburg, New York. Children: Caroline L., deceased; Julia F., deceased; Julia F., Horace, deceased; William Henry, see forward; Horace, Caroline L., Charles, Helen L. He married (second) Sarah E. Strong, widow of Henry W. Strong. Children: Maria, Walter C., Sarah E., Harriet S., Louisa L., Letitia D.

(IV) William Henry, son of Horace and Eliza A. (McMurray) Harrington, was born in Troy, New York, July 19, 1840. He received his education in the Troy public schools, Scram's Collegiate Institute, Sand Lake, New York, and Jonesville Collegiate Institute. He was with his father until 1862, when he left Troy and spent several years west, going to Chicago, where he was employed in a flouring mill for one and one-half years. He then learned telegraphy, was operator at Elkhorn and points in Wisconsin and Illinois on the line of the Chicago & North Western Railroad. He was a skillful operator, and in time became chief operator and manager of a division, with headquarters at Clinton, Iowa, where he remained four years, after which he returned east, but only remained until 1871. In that year he was at Elgin, Illinois, Omaha, Nebraska, Denver and Georgetown, Colorado. He then settled for a time in Denver, where he was manager of the city office of the Western Union Telegraph Company. He then went to Salt Lake City, Utah, where he remained seven years. The first six months he was engaged in telegraphing, then resigned and entered the newspaper field. He became associate editor of the Salt Lake Herald and correspondent on the staff of the New York World, was western press agent and regular correspondent of the Sacramento, California, Record. He continued in newspaper work for two years, then returned to the telegraph key until he returned east, at the expiration of his seven years spent in Salt Lake City. After a short stay in the east, he went to Chicago, where, in association with George H. Bliss, he organized a company for the manufacture and sale of electric machinery of various descriptions and use. They were also importers of foreign-made electric appliances and machinery, and had a five years' lease to manufacture Bell telephone apparatus. Mr. Harrington was secretary and treasurer of the company. After two years he sold out his interest and took a position in New York City, where he remained four years. He located in Troy, where he was on the staff of the Troy Times as legislative reporter and Saratoga Springs correspondent. He was connected with the Times for four years. He was appointed administrator of the estate of Latham Cornell, and other trusts of similar nature, including the settlement of the estate left by his stepmother; also settled the estate of the late William W. Cornell, of Poughkeepsie, New York, of which his half-brother, Walter C. Harrington, was one of the executors. He owns a fine estate just outside the city limits of Troy, on which he has his residence. He has practically retired from all business save such matters as relate to his own private estate. He is fond of sport with rod and gun, and has an unusually fine collection of pictures and trophies of the camp and chase. During the civil war he was a member of Company G, Twenty-fourth Regiment, New York, and was a member of "Ellsworth's Zouaves," Second Illinois Regiment, but did not see service at the front. He is strictly independent in politics, owing allegiance to no party, choosing his candidates with sole regard for fitness. He was chairman of the board of inspection for the fourth Brunswick district for ten years. He is a member of the Rensselaer County Society, but has resigned from his other clubs and societies. He is unmarried.


Moffitt


The Moffitt family of Troy, represented in the present generation by Andrew W. M. Moffitt, chemist, descends through both paternal and maternal lines from families long seated in Ireland. Through maternal lines they descend from A. R. Young, born in county Monahan, Ireland, where he lived and died. His daughter, Anna Young, was twice married and twice widowed before coming to the United States; her first husband was 覧覧 Marshall, by whom she had a daughter, Alicia; her second husband was 覧覧 Fitzgerald, by whom she had a son, William M. Fitzgerald. About the year 1840, with these two children, she came to the United States and settled in Troy, New York. Her son, William M. Fitzgerald, enlisted from Weehawken, New Jersey, with Burden's sharpshooters, and was a brave soldier of the civil war. For gallantry in the field he had won a lieutenant's commission, but before it had reached him he was wounded at the battle of Kelly's Ford, taken to Washington, D. C., where he died in the hospital. The daughter, Alicia Marshall, born in Ireland, May, 1835, died in Troy, April 5, 1903. She was married in the Church of the Holy Cross, Troy, to James Moffitt, the founder of the Troy family.

(I) James Moffitt was born in county Monahan, Ireland, 1833, died in Troy, New York, December 16, 1903. He came to the United States about the year 1840 and settled in Troy. He learned the trade of tanner, and for thirteen years was connected with the firm of Swasey & Company. During these years he accumulated capital and established a grocery business in Troy, which he conducted the remainder of his life. He was a man of energy and ability, and conducted his business affairs successfully. He was a member of St. Peter's Catholic Church of Troy, the other members of his family being of the Episcopal faith. He was a Democrat in politics, but bore no active part in public affairs. He married, in 1850, Alicia Marshall, whose parents have been previously mentioned. Child, Andrew William Marshall, see forward.

(II) Andrew William Marshall, son of James and Alicia (Marshall) Moffitt, was born in Troy, New York, September 23, 1852. He was educated in the public schools, and after completing his education entered the drug store of R. L. Drake as a clerk, and later was associated with R. H. Starbuck in the same line of business. He became thoroughly conversant with the details of the drug business, and in 1881 formed a partnership with J. R. Drake, under the firm name of Drake & Moffitt. The firm established their store at No. 3 Second street, where for eighteen years they conducted a very successful drug business. In 1898 the firm was dissolved. Mr. Moffitt established a new store on Broadway, where he still continues, one of the leading drug firms of the city. Beside his private business he is interested in the United Drug Company of Boston. He is a member of St. Barnabas Episcopal church of Troy, which he has served as treasurer for twenty-five years, and also is a member of the governing committee of the church. He is prominent in the Masonic order, in which he has attained the thirty-second degree. He is also a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Pharmaceutical Association of Troy. He is a Republican in politics, but not an active worker in the party. He married Mary Ann Little, of Troy, February 8, 1873, daughter of Thomas and Ellen Little. Children:

Jessie Marshall, married George G. Grossmann, of Troy, cashier of the mercantile establishment of W. H. Frear.
Walter James, born in Troy, December 15, 1877; graduated from the Troy high school and Albany Pharmaceutical College; now engaged in the drug business at Springer, New Mexico.

Platt


This name, sometimes written with one t and sometimes with an additional e, means: "An open, level piece of land." The family name is frequently found in England. In the records of the Heraldry office in London it is called "the ancient and honorable family of Platt." The first ancestor of the greater part of those who bear the name in the United States was Richard Platt, who came from the middle of England. He came to America in 1638 and settled at New Haven, Connecticut, but in 1639 threw in his lot with the seventy-six who formed themselves into a church organization, August 22 of that year, and founded the town of Milford, nine miles west of New Haven. He was chosen a deacon of the church in 1669. He is on the list of free planters, owned muc land, and was a man of consequence. He died in 1684. His estate inventoried six hundred pounds sterling. His wife Mary is recorded as dying January, 1676. He left one of his heirs a legacy "towards bringing up his son to be a scholar." He was married in England, and is first recorded in Milford, November 20, 1639, as having "four in family." He probably brought four children from England with him: Mary, John, Isaac and Sarah, for the first baptismal record is of Epenetus, baptized July 12, 1640. Subsequently were baptized, Hannah, October 1, 1643; Josiah, 1645; Joseph, 1649. John settled in Norwalk, Connecticut; Isaac and Epenetus at Huntington, Long Island; Josiah and Joseph remained at Milford, the first home of the family. Mary married (first) Luke Atkinson; (second) Thomas Wetmore; Sarah married (first) Thomas Beach; (second) Miles Merwin; Hannah married and resided in Norwalk. It is from Richard and Mary Platt that the Platts of Scranton, Pennsylvania, and Waterford, New York, descend, but the connecting links have not yet been found. Frederick, who follows, is of the third generation in America, but will be treated as the first of the line that follows.

(I) Frederick Platt, who is the head of the Saybrook branch of the Platt family, and the first ancestor of the Waterford family that can be named with certainty, is believed to have settled at Killingworth, Connecticut, about 1690. There are no very early records. He married 覧覧 Fox, of New London, Connecticut. Children:

Samuel, settled in Putchaug, now Westbrook, Connecticut.
Ebenezer, settled in the same locality; married Dorothy Post.
Obadiah, see forward.
Mary, married Samuel Stevens, of Killingworth.
Lydia, married David Kilsey.
(II) Obadiah, third son of Frederick and 覧覧 (Fox) Platt, was born in 1709. He located in the western part of the town of Saybrook, called by the Indians "Pettipaug," now Winthrop, Connecticut. He died at the age of sixty-four. He married Hannah Lane, of Clinton, Connecticut. Children:

Captain Dan, see forward.
Joseph, born 1740; was a soldier in the French and Indian war.
Noah, born 1742; married (first) Lucretia Chapman; (second) Mrs. H. Wright.
Hannah, married William Hill.
John, born 1746; married Lucy West; had five sons and seven daughters; he lived to be ninety-one years of age.
Elizabeth, married Benjamin Burr; she lived to be ninety years of age.
Sarah, married Isaac Post; died at age of seventy-eight.
Mary, born 1753; married Michael Spencer; died at age of seventy-eight.
Lydia, born 1756; married Josiah Post; died at age of eighty.
(III) Captain Dan, son of Obadiah and Hannah (Lane) Platt, was born in 1735. He served in the revolutionary army, where he gained his rank. He married, January 12, 1763, Jemima Pratt, and died aged eighty-eight years. Children:

Dan, see forward.
Jemima, died at age of twenty years.
Hannah, born 1769; married John Lane.
Joseph, died young.
David, born 1777; married Lydia Wilcox.
Sarah, born 1781; married (first) George Havens; (second) Bela Stannard.
Lucretia, born 1785; married Gaylord Coan.
(IV) Deacon Dan (2), son of Captain Dan (1) and Jemima (Pratt) Platt, was born in Madison, Connecticut, June 21, 1764, died aged over seventy-eight years. He married (first) Catherine Lane, December 20, 1787; (second) Mrs. Cynthia Evarts, of Madison. Children:

Joseph, see forward.
Jemima, married Jonathan Scranton.
Hezekiah Lane, married Sarah Mills.
Dr. Dan, born 1795; married (first) Abby Lathrop; he married twice afterwards, and located at Key West, Florida.
Catherine Lane, born 1797; married (first) John Buckingham; (second) Gilbert Gaylord.
Austin, born 1799; married Eliza Henchman.
Abigail, married Jeremiah Russell.
Ezra, died in New York, aged twenty-five years.
Eunice, born 1805, unmarried.
Harriet, died in New York, aged twenty-three years.
(V) Joseph, son of Deacon Dan (2) and Catherine (Lane) Platt, was born in Madison, Connecticut, in 1789. He studied law and was an associate in legal practice with the father of Chief Justice Waite. He married Lydia Pratt. Children:

Joseph Curtis, see forward.
William Henry, married Emily Mabel Hopkins, of Naugatuck, Connecticut; children:
George Hopkins, married Frances Elowell;
Amelia Lydia, died young;
William Henry, married Ida F. Drury;
Emily M., married Dr. L. C. Millspaugh;
Catherine S., married Albert E. Jenkins.
(VI) Joseph Curtis, son of Joseph and Lydia (Pratt) Platt, was born in Saybrook, Connecticut, September 17, 1816, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, November 15, 1887. He was a merchant of Fairhaven, Connecticut, but later a manufacturer of iron. In 1846 he removed to Scranton and became one of the members of Scranton and Platt, iron manufacturers, a firm which finally grew into the great Lackawanna Iron & Coal Company. They were among the very first to use coal in this country for smelting purposes. The enterprise and success of the company resulted in the building up of the city of Scranton. Mr. Platt married, April 2, 1844, Catherine Serena Scranton, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, July 4, 1887, daughter of Jonathan Scranton, of Madison, Connecticut. The earlier Scrantons had settled in Pennsylvania and the city of Scranton was named in honor of the family, who were potent factors in its foundation and development. Mr. Platt was public-spirited and influential. His "Reminiscences of the Earlier History of Scranton," an address delivered before the Lackawanna Institute of History and Science was a valuable narrative of enterprise and venture, showing how the foundations of the city's prosperity were laid. He was instrumental in giving the city its present name, Scranton. Children:

Joseph Curtis, see forward.
Ella Jemima.
Frank Elbert, of Scranton; married Elizabeth Augusta Skinner; children: Joseph Curtis, Margaret S., Philip S., and Leonard.
(VII) Joseph Curtis (2), son of Joseph Curtis (1) and Catherine Serena (Scranton) Platt, was born at Fairhaven, Connecticut, January 9, 1845. He was graduated at Phillips Andover Academy, class of 1862, and at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York, in 1866, with the degree of civil engineer. Later in life he was a member of the board of trustees of this institution. His early life was spent in Scranton, where he added to his knowledge of civil that of mining engineering. He also was interested in iron manufacture. He stood high in his profession, and as consulting engineer had charge of the construction of the Franklin Furnaces in New Jersey, then considered a very large and important iron manufacturing plant. In 1875 he removed to Waterford, New York, where he died July 7, 1898. He was in active business in Waterford as a manufacturer for nearly twenty years. He was president of the Mohawk and Hudson Manufacturing Company, formerly the Eddy Valve Company, and owner of the Button Boiler Company. He retired from active business life in his last years and returned to his profession of civil and consulting engineer and in preparing technical essays for the scientific journals. He was a successful man in both his business enterprises and his profession. He was a man of the highest principle, and followed his convictions with outspoken candor. He was a Republican in political belief, although not active in party work. He was outspoken in his condemnation of the liquor traffic, and almost singlehanded fought the curse in his town. Notwithstanding that, it was said that he had the respect of the saloon men to a greater degree than any man in Waterford. He was a member of the Presbyterian church and took a deep interest in its welfare and work. He was a trustee, chairman of the finance committee and for several years superintendent of the Sunday school.

He married, December 8, 1869, Katharine Judd Jones, of Penn Yan, New York, born April 28, 1847, daughter of Ebenezer Backus Jones, born in Troy, New York, September 5, 1808, died May 24, 1892, and his wife, Lucy (Judd) Jones, born in Rhinebeck, New York, 1812, died September 1, 1889. Mr. Jones was in the iron business at Penn Yan a successful man of high character. He was a son of Ebenezer Backus, of Troy. Lucy Judd was a daughter of Uri Judd, of Woodbury, Connecticut. Children of Joseph Curtis and Katharine (Kate) Judd (Jones) Platt:

Frederick Joseph, born at Franklin Furnace, New Jersey, July 23, 1871; he was graduated at Cornell University with degree of civil engineer, class of 1892, and is a member of Kappa Alpha fraternity of that institution; he married Jessie Blair and has sons: Joseph Curtis, Austin Blair, Frederick. Mr. Platt is an electrical and civil engineer, located in business at Scranton, Pennsylvania.
Llewellyn Jones, born at Franklin Furnace, New Jersey, July 23, 1873, died July 15, 1876, in Scranton, Pennsylvania.
Elbert Scranton, born December 26, 1876; graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; resides in Troy; married Angelica Schuyler Thompson, and has a son, Elbert Scranton.
Edward Howard, born November 5, 1878, died in infancy.

Snow


Nicholas Snow, born about 1600, arrived in Plymouth Colony, on the "Ann" in 1623. He had a share in the first Plymouth land division and was of Stephen Hopkins' company in 1627, to whose lot fell a "black weaning calf and calf of this year to come," etc. He was a freeman and taxpayer before 1627. He married Constance, daughter of Stephen Hopkins, both of whom came in the "Mayflower" in 1620. She died October, 1677. There is no complete list of his children but Governor Bradford says, in 1650, he had twelve, all alive and well. He was of sterling value to the new town in all departments, bore its burdens and offices; he died in 1676. Sons mentioned: Mark, Joseph, Stephen, John, Jabez; daughter, Mary, married Thomas Paine.

(II) John, son of Nicholas and Constance (Hopkins) Snow, was born in Plymouth, in 1639, died in Eastham, in 1692. He married Mary Smalley, September 19, 1667. They had nine children, all born in Eastham. Later he moved to Truro, where his father was a large land owner. His sons, John, Isaac and Elisha, moved with him and all became actively identified with the interests of the town.

(III) John (2), son of John (1) and Mary (Smalley) Snow, was born in Eastham, May 3, 1678. He married Elizabeth Ridley, May 25, 1700. He was, next to Thomas Paine, the most active man in the settlement of the town of Truro. He had seven sons and one daughter:

John, born 1706, married Hannah Paine;
Anthony, 1709;
Elisha, 1711;
Isaac, 1713;
Mary, 1716;
Ambrose, 1718;
Amasa, 1720;
David, 1723.
(IV) Anthony, son of John (2) and Elizabeth (Ridley) Snow, born July 28, 1709, died July 11, 1796. He married March 21, 1731, Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Paine. Children:

David, born 1732;
Daniel, 1734;
Elisha, 1736;
John, 1738;
Jonathan, 1740;
Sylvanus, 1742;
Anthony, 1744;
Sarah, 1746;
Elizabeth, 1748;
Anne, 1750;
Mary, 1753;
Jessie, 1759.
(V) David, son of Anthony and Sarah (Paine) Snow, born July 17, 1732, died May 25, 1792. He lived in Truro, on Cape Cod. He was a soldier of the revolution, a private in Captain Mathias Tobey's company. He and his son David were in the same company and marched to Crown Point, in January, 1777. He was afterwards commissioned, September 16, 1777, as first lieutenant of the Barnstable Company, Massachusetts Regiment. During the year 1775 David Snow was living with his large family in the broad, flat house originally belonging to John Snow. Mr. Snow, accompanied by his son David, a lad of fifteen years, while fishing in a boat in Cape Cod bay were captured by English privateers and taken to Halifax. Later they were transferred to "Old Mill" prison, England. A thorough search was made for them on the coast, but they were given up as dead by family and friends. They, with thirty-four others, managed to file the bars and escaped to Plymouth harbor, fifteen miles from the prison, where they secured a large scow and were soon afloat on the English channel. They boarded a small vessel and under threat of surrender or death, took command of the vessel and sailed for the coast of France, where they sold their prize, each having a share of the money. They gave themselves up to the French government and were placed on a vessel and sent to America, landing on the coast of the Carolinas. As the war was still going on, and the coast guarded, Mr. Snow and his son made their way home by land. Friends and neighbors escorted them to their home, all rejoicing in their return. David Snow was a man of influence on the Cape. He was for years a justice of the peace, an important office at that time. He was always called Squire Snow. He married Hannah Collins, July 7, 1758. They had eight sons and two daughters. All the sons became masters of vessels, some were lost at sea while still young. Children:

Stephen, born August 14, 1759;
David, November 23, 1760;
Sarah, March 27, 1763;
John, July 28, 1765;
Daniel, September 6, 1767;
Richard, December 21, 1771;
Hannah, February 27, 1774;
Benjamin, November 19, 1775;
Ephraim, March 15, 1778;
Henry, 1781.
(VI) Henry, son of David and Hannah (Collins) Snow, was born in Truro, October 4, 1781, died in Cohasset, February 5, 1860. When only eight years of age, he went on a fishing cruise of five months to the Great Banks. At the age of eighteen he moved to Cohasset, Massachusetts, where he was master of a coasting vessel. In 1812 he was master of the schooner "Random" which leaked like a sieve, but could sail like the wind. On two occasions during the war of 1812, while sailing the "Random," he was chased by the British, but escaped. He sailed the "Ann," a full rigged brig, for seventeen years. While in Antwerp, Belgium, he had his portrait painted by a celebrated artist; it is now in the possession of his granddaughter. He married June 1, 1803, Deliverance Dyer, of Truro, born November 12, 1781, died in Cohasset, November 9, 1859. Children:

Henry, born January 11, 1804, died March 5, 1808;
Benjamin, August 23, 1806, died March 5, 1829;
Paulina, December 14, 1807;
Henry, September 18, 1810, died April 4, 1904;
Ruth, April 16, 1813;
Elijah, September 27, 1815, died March 6, 1816.
(VII) Captain Henry (2), son of Henry (1) and Deliverance (Dyer) Snow, was born in Cohasset, September 10, 1810, died April 4, 1904. He followed the sea from an early age. While quite a young man he became master and part owner of the "Myra." Later he owned and sailed the "Eldridge" and "Star of Hope." The last named vessel was wrecked in a storm on Brendante Reef, Newport Harbor, in the spring of 1871. Captain Snow then retired from the sea. He lived to an advanced age, was hale and hearty, taking a great interest in all events both local and foreign. He married, December 13, 1840, Susanna Stoddard Lincoln, born August 21, 1822, in Cohasset, Massachusetts, died September 13, 1880, (see Stoddard VIII). Children:

James Henry Snow, born June 30, 1842;
Anna Frances, August 25, 1844, died duly 5, 1869;
Susan Elizabeth, October 21, 1847;
Ruth Nichols, June 29, 1848;
Charlotte Otis, November 8, 1850;
Benjamin Lincoln, August 2, 1852, died January 23, 1859.
(VIII) Susan Elizabeth, daughter of Captain Henry (2) and Susanna Stoddard (Lincoln) Snow, was born in Cohasset, October 21, 1847, died April 25, 1872. Her early life was spent at the homestead, South End, Cohasset. Here she first met her future husband, who spent the summer of 1857 on the sea with her father. He returned to Cohasset succeeding summers, and she married Leonard House Giles, January 20, 1869. She was a beautiful girl, loved by all, but spared only about three years after her marriage. She died in Troy, New York. Children:

Anna Louisa Giles, born February 4, 1870;
Henry Snow Giles, April 22, 1872 (see Giles III).

Sutherland


The Sutherland family of Troy, New York, are of Scotch ancestry, although one generation were of Quebec, Canada. In this country the family have been skilled mechanics and settlers in cities.

(I) Peter Sutherland was born in the highlands of Scotland (where the family name is of frequent mention), and died in Quebec, Canada. He left Scotland when a young man, crossed the seas to America, settling at Quebec, Canada, where he passed the remainder of his days. He was a mason, having learned the trade, and that of ornamental plastering, in Scotland. He was a man of good education and unusual native ability. He married Christina J. Stewart, who died in Quebec. Children:

James, located in New York city, unmarried.
Ann, married Thomas Jewell.
Jane, married John Parkhill.
Isabella, married a Mr. O'Connor.
Jessie, married John Purdy.
James.
John B., (see forward), and perhaps others.
The children were all carefully reared and given a good education.

(II) John B., son of Peter and Christina J. (Stewart) Sutherland, was born in Quebec, Canada, December 7, 1825, died in Troy, New York, March 19, 1902. He was educated in the schools of Quebec, and on arriving at a suitable age was apprenticed and served seven years, learning the molder's trade. He became an expert molder and for several years was employed in New York City, afterwards located in Troy, and entered the employ of James Burden, with whom he remained until years caused his retirement. His expert mechanical ability and thorough mastery of his trade made his services invaluable to his employer, who advanced him to a responsible position in his works and confided to him the most intricate patterns and models. His services were often required by others, with work beyond the skill of even the best molders. His mechanical ability was not his only claim to recognition. His manly character, upright life, and pleasing personality, made him admired among his fellows. He was strongly in favor of organized labor, and affiliated with the local molders' union. He secured for himself a competence through economy and wise real estate investment in the city, which he improved and cared for during his later years, after retiring from active work. He was large-minded, charitable, just and upright. He was a member of the Presbyterian church of Troy, and faithful to his obligations. A Republican in politics, he took no part in public affairs, his hours "off duty" being given to his home and family, to which he was greatly devoted.

He married, in Quebec, Ann Elizabeth Dean, born there, July 5, 1826, died in Troy, April 2, 1892. They were parents of eight children, four of whom died in infancy. Those who grew to mature years were born in New York City;

Mary Ellen, married George Troutman;
Jane C., resident of Troy, unmarried;
Ann Elizabeth, deceased, married Mark Anderson, and had Ann Sutherland and Helen Violet Anderson, living with their aunt, Miss Jane C. Sutherland.
The only son, Peter B., was born 1852, died 1893. He was well educated, and learned the molder's trade from his father, whose mechanical ability and skill he inherited. He was prominent in the Molders' Union, and a man of excellent character. He visited Europe twice, and had a mind well stored with facts gathered from travel and experiences. He was a Republican in politics, and was a candidate for member of the New York assembly. He was a hard worker in his party's ranks. He never married.

Van Den Bergh


Gysbert Cornelessin Van Wesep, called also Gysbert ap. or Van de Bergh, arrived in the colony of Rensselaerwyck in 1645, and lived on a farm called "High Beigh" lying on the east side of the Hudson. He married Lysbeth, daughter of Claas Cornelis Segers Van Voorhoudt. In 1662 he bought a house, barn, etc. "lying this side of Bethlehem" of Marten Cornelise Van Buren. Children:

Willem, married Catryna, daughter of Wynant Van der Poel;
Cornelis Gysbertse, see forward;
Gerret, married Teuntje 覧覧;
Gertje, married Evert Van Esch.
(II) Cornelis Gysbertse, son of Gysbert and Lysbeth (Van Voorhoudt) Van Den Bergh, was born, it is supposed, in Holland, his father's native country. He died between 1714 and 1717, and lived on the east side of the river between Albany and Troy. He married (first) Cornelia Wynantse, sister of Catryna Van der Poel; (second) Maria Van Beuren, widow of Lewis (Matthew) Van Beuren. Children:

Gysbert, married (first) Diwertje Marten, October 20, 1700, (second) Catalyntje 覧覧;
Tryntje, married Peter Waldron, died 1753;
Maritje, married Cornelis Van Alstyne;
Cornelis, married Maria Winne;
Cornelia, married Martin Van Alstyne;
Matthias, see forward;
Gertje, baptized December 20, 1691;
Goosen Wynant, married Anna Wendell, March 20, 1721.
He had one child by his second wife,

Gerrit, born 1703, died 1721.
(III) Matthias, sixth child of Cornelis Gysbertse and Cornelia Wynantse (Van der Poel) Van Den Bergh, was baptized in Albany, March 23, 1690. He married, May 26, 1717, Cathlyna, daughter of Rutger Melcherts and Weintje Harments (Hun) Van Deusen. She died and was buried in Albany, May 1, 1731, and her husband was buried there December 22, 1745. Children:

Cornelis, see forward;
Myntje, married (first) Ryner Van Yeveren, (second) Gerrit Lansing;
Cornelia, married Reyner Van Alstyne, November 5, 1748;
Rutgert, married Maria Van Den Bergh, July 6, 1754;
Gysbert, died in infancy;
Engeltje, baptized April 17, 1730, married, July 24, 1741, Bastian Tennis [Teunis?] Visscher.
(IV) Cornelis, son of Matthias, and Cathlyna (Van Deusen) Van Den Bergh, was baptized October 8, 1719, died February 2, 1798. He settled in the town of Half Moon, Saratoga county, New York, near Waterford, and is on the list of "path masters" for the years 1788-89. He married a kinswoman, Cornelia Van Den Bergh, in New York City, February 13, 1747. Children, baptized:

Rachel, May 28, 1749;
Annatje, March 17, 1751;
Wynant, November 24, 1754, see forward;
Matthys, August 13, 1758;
Cathalyntje, November 15, 1760;
Mattheus, born March 17, 1762;
Gysbert, May 19, 1766.
(V) Wynant, son of Cornelis and Cornelia (Van Den Bergh) Van Den Bergh, was born in Saratoga county, New York, November 24, 1754. The family of Van Den Bergh furnished forty-five soldiers to the revolutionary army from New York state. Wynant was a private of the Thirteenth Regiment, Albany County Militia, Colonel John McCrea commanding. He was a farmer of the town of Half Moon, and a man of character and. influence. He married Fransytke Van Ness, a descendant of one of the early Dutch families of Albany county. Wynant Van Den Bergh died in 1822.

(VI) Gysbert, son of Wynant and Fransytke (Van Ness) Van Den Bergh, was born in Half Moon, Saratoga county, New York, April 8, 1776. He was a member of the Masonic order. Gysbert Van Den Bergh and his brother Peter cut and hewed the timber, and floated it down the river, that was used in the old Waterford Bridge that was recently destroyed by fire. He married, March 17, 1795, Sarah, born September 12, 1778, daughter of Hendrick and Altje (Van Ness) Schoonhooven. Hendrick, her father, was born in Half Moon in 1752, and married Altje Van Ness in 1771. He was a son of Guert Hendrick Van Schoonhooven, born in 1675, whose brother Goosen purchased the site of Waterford from the Indians, November 23, 1669. Children of Gysbert Van Den Bergh:

Hendrick, born January 23, 1797;
Wynant Gysbert, see forward;
Frances Alida, born January 26, 1813; married Thomas C. Morgan, of Connecticut.
(VII) Wynant Gysbert, son of Gysbert and Sarah (Van Schoonhooven) Van Den Bergh, was born at Half Moon, Saratoga county, New York, March 30, 1799. He was one of the most prominent farmers of the town of Waterford, and for a number of years was supervisor; was elder of the Dutch Reformed church for thirty-seven years, until his death. He married, December 27, 1820, Sarah, born February 22, 1805, daughter of Cornelius and Cornelia (Lansing) Fonda, both of the oldest, most substantial Dutch families of the early period. Children:

Henry Calhoun, born January 1, 1824, married Sarah M. Thrall, of Glastonbury, Connecticut;
Frances Maria, July 6, 1827;
Susan Alida, June 5, 1833, married Simon Sheldon, of Schuylerville, New York;
Garrett Lansing, August 2, 1835, died in 1856;
Sarah Matilda, February 3, 1837, married Smith Boughton;
James Gilbert, September 1, 1841, died in infancy;
Harriette Ann, October 2, 1853, married, February 16, 1881, Loren Allen, of Sandy Hill, New York


Van Den Bergh


Mrs. Helen (Rundell) Sagendorf descends from the old Dutch family of Van den Berghs, of whom the first mention is in 1654, when Arent Van den Bergh was a corporal in the West India Company's service at Fort Orange. His wife was a sister of Andries Hendrickse. At a slightly earlier period, 1660, Claas Cornelse Van den Bergh was in Beverwyck. He had a son, Cornelis.

(II) Cornelis, son of Claas Cornelse Van den Bergh, had a son Gysbert.

(III) Gysbert, son of Cornelis Van den Bergh, bought a house and barn in 1662 "Lying this side of Bethlehem," Albany county, New York. He had children including Cornelis.

(IV) Cornelis (2), eldest son of Gysbert Van den Bergh, was of the manor of Rensselaerwyck. He made his will March 3, 1714, proved in 1717. He married (first) Cornelia Wyantse Van der Poel; (second) Maria Van Buren, widow of Lunwiese Van Dusen, November 21, 1702. Children, baptized and all mentioned in father's will:

Maritse, March 8, 1685, married Cornelis Van Alstyn;
Cornelia, October 2, 1687, married Marten Van Alstyn;
Geertje, December 20, 1691;
Matthys, June 24, 1694;
Wyant, see forward;
Gysbert;
Gerritt, September 19, 1703;
Tryntje, married Pieter Wadron.
(V) Wyant, son of Cornelis (2) and Cornelia Wyantse (Van der Poel) Van den Bergh, was baptized June 24, 1694. He was of "Halve Maan," Saratoga county, New York. He married (first) November 21, 1715, Aaltje Van Nes; (second) Anna Wendell, March 20, 1721; (third) Catherine Van Nes (widow Grosbeck), August 25, 1750. She was buried December 21, 1754. Children baptized:

Cornelis, July 20, 1718, died young;
Cornelia, March 21, 1722, died young;
Abraham, August 25, 1723;
Cornelia (2), June 6, 1725;
Cornelis, May 13, 1727;
Maycke, July 27, 1729;
Aaltje, November 13, 1731;
Anna, November, 1732;
Wyant W., (see forward);
Evert (?);
Gysbert, July 15, 1744;
Catharina, twin of Gysbert;
Catalina, May 5, 1751.
(VI) Wyant W., son of Wyant and Anna (Wendell) Van den Bergh, was baptized June 1, 1735. He was a native and lifelong resident of Saratoga county, New York. The family of Van den Bergh was a prominent one in the county. Wyant W. was one of the largest taxpayers in the county. He had a fine farm in Stillwater on the flats where both the British and American forces encamped in 1777. During the first days of battle at Stillwater the British, on being driven back, set fire to his house and barns, causing their total destruction. Wyant W. Van den Bergh married (first) Maritje Van den Berg (a kinswoman), September 28, 1758. Married (second) Francyntie Clute, about 1768. Wyant W. died January 29, 1822, aged eighty-seven years, seven months, and twenty-eight days and Francyntie (Clute) Van den Bergh, died February 21, 1815, aged seventy-five years, ten days. Children:

Valkert, baptized June 24, 1759;
Catharina, November 23, 1760;
Maria, born October 3, 1768, died young;
Gysbert, April 8, 1770;
Maria, February 20, 1772;
Rachel, 1775.
(VII) Rachel, daughter of Wyant W. and Francyntie (Clute) Van den Bergh, married Cornelius Moore, of Saratoga county, New York. They had a daughter Eliza.

(VIII) Eliza, daughter of Cornelius and Rachel (Van den Bergh) Moore, married Darius P. Rundell, son of Jesse Rundell.

(IX) Helen, daughter of Darius P. and Eliza (Moore) Rundell, married (first) Emery W. Church; (second) George Henry Sagendorf, of Troy.